May 20, 1986 - Stratford upon Avon - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 20, 1986

May 20, 1986 - Stratford upon Avon

I'M NOTING A gradual decrease in the quality and amount that is going into the journal. I hate doing it and I especially hate doing it when I just wrote yesterday's and it's been a long day.

I heard the rain all night. Thankfully, I wouldn't even touch Bike today. I just got up for breakfast, which was enough for a fly, then hurriedly walked downtown. I wanted to get on the Warwick/Kenilworth Castles tour. I hadn't read the fine print - in spring, rather than a bus every hour, they run one per day. It was 11 am so I had 'til 2 pm to look around town.

The rain slowed, then stopped 'til the sun came out, so the walk was quite nice. I took a long walk along the River Avon past the theatre, the church where Shakespeare is buried and past the bronze statue and gardens commemorating the 'bard'.

I went through a number of shops downtown including, of course, record shops. When I'm in London, I think I'll get the Bryan Ferry and Peter Gabriel albums no matter the price. They probably won't be out at home. Hopefully the Genesis album will soon be out, too. I looked everywhere for something for Shelley [my sister] but I have no idea what I'll do. I'll just have to fall upon something.

At noon, I decided I'd go to a restaurant which was a mistake. I paid quite a bit for something that tasted nothing at all like lamb. As soon as I'd done, I went across the street to the grocery store where I bought some 'Yop'. It's a yoghourt drink that is just amazing! It's made by Yoplait, thus the name.

Shortly before 2 pm I ran over to a cycle shop where I was able to buy a cap for my crankset. A few days ago I thought I'd run over something on the road. It was the original cap.  I felt very relieved as it looks quite silly without it.

I got onto the tour bus at 2 pm then we headed to Kenilworth Castle in a double-decker. We only visited the ruins for fifteen minutes so I didn't go inside for £1. The castle is in ruins thanks to Cromwell during the Civil War. At that time, Kenilworth was a base for Royalists - Cromwell thus had it dismantled.

We continued on our way to Warwick Castle. It's still around as the Earl of Warwick sided with Cromwell. Oddly enough, as soon as the monarchy was restored and the King returned from France, there was the Earl! The castle was last inhabited in 1978 when the present Earl sold it to Madame Tussaud's. They've done a great job in restoring it inside and out. Of course, it was the refurbished rooms I was most interested in. In a number of them are wax models of numerous guests from the 1890s - the Earl had many important guests. Prince of Wales (later Edward VI), Duke and Duchess of Marlborough, and the Churchills (ie Winston).

Most rooms had oak paneling to waist level, then a fancy moulding then paint or wallpaper. Mahogany, portraits, armaments and fancy ceilings.

On the way back, I spoke with a couple from Waterloo and some Los Angelites (?). They were all a bit shocked when I told them about the play. As it turned out, I went for supper with Dave and Karen (LA) who'd been married last week. They'd tried to cash in their tickets for Romeo and Juliet but had no luck. I picked up a ticket for a Ben Jonson play, 'Every Man in his Humour' from an elderly couple who had two extra tickets. I saved £2.

After a fine supper of roast lamb, we went to the theatre. I went to the Swan Theatre for mine which is newly opened where the old theatre used to be before the fire in the early 1900s. It was great. The only weird part was the weirdo beside me - a real dork. I'm sure if you told her she'd fit into the Victorian age she'd be proud. I think she'll be a spinster all her life - who knows how old. I was ready to throttle her, she was so annoying. Ugh.

I walked home under a perfectly clear sky. It was 11 pm but there was still light in the west - I love summer. It looked as if the weather would be good tomorrow but as I was here in bed with the Walkman on, they said there'd be rain with few breaks. Hurray.

I don't plan a big day tomorrow. Weather permitting, I'll see the Cotswolds on bike and probably stop 25 to 30 km from here. I can't go to Oxford 'til Thursday. I've lots of time these days! I'll spend all day Friday or Saturday in Windsor.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0