May 19, 1986 - Offa's Dyke to Stratford-upon-Avon - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 19, 1986

May 19, 1986 - Offa's Dyke to Stratford-upon-Avon

I WON'T HAVE much to say about this day. First of all, I spent most of it on the cycle. Secondly, I was so tired last night that I went to bed, deciding to leave this til the 20th.

I got up to a marvellous breakfast and was on my way by 9:45 am. There were a few clouds in the sky but it was warm and, though I could hardly believe it, there was absolutely no wind.

As I pedaled along the slightly rolling terrain, I was amazed at the beauty of the haze over the green crops with the occasional field of rape seed. Because there was no wind, the insects were out so I had to put on the sunglasses. This was the first time I've worn the shorts in this 'Restoration of Cycling'.

About three minutes after I started, I crossed Offa's Dyke which was built as a separation of Wales from England back in the 8th Century. About five minutes after I started, I had to remove my jacket - all I had was my t-shirt. Two men from Torquay came over to talk with me and ask the usual questions - very friendly country.

I'd set out with hopes of arriving in Worcester for the night. I knew it was far but I'd push. The breeze picked up of course in my face.

By Tenbury Wells, I was quite hungry. This was the day most stores were closed so I went to a bakery for a steak and kidney pie and two scones. I tried to find milk but I was out of luck, I pulled out of town and when I thought I'd die, I pulled off in some unbelievably beautiful fields. Two other cyclists went by as I sat at the side of the road. Once I'd finished I somehow realized I'd made a wrong turn a couple of km back so I retraced my path and continued. And continued. And continued.

All of a sudden there was traffic so I knew I was in Worcester. It was a surprise after not having been in a larger centre by bike in some time. It was only 3:30 pm so I cycled on. Those last kilometres were rather long. By 6 pm I'd gone the 50 km to Stratford-upon-Avon. The first two B&Bs had no singles left. I stayed at the third.

As soon as I'd brought my stuff inside, I put on some pants and cycled downtown on a very light bike! The hostess had told me that the plays started at 7 pm so things were rushed.

I can't believe how amazing this place is. Our Stratford is very beautiful, but when you compare the towns themselves, there really is no comparison. I like it here.

I locked my bike outside the theatre, rushed inside and was glad to find tickets left and I had 'til 7:30 pm until it began. I decided to see 'Romeo and Juliet' at the main theatre.

I was in by 7:05 pm at the back row on the floor. It was a good seat. The play was a modern version. I was a bit upset, but slowly got used to it so I can't really say I hated it. Not as much as at first, anyway. When you're expecting clothes of the times and to see a play with a sports car, mopeds and bicycles is a bit of a surprise!

The play was done at 10:45 pm so I walked home as they're quite strict about lights. I didn't have an address for the place, so I had to watch for the drainpipe I was to lock Bike to. I found it. I came upstairs, changed and dropped into bed while listening to my Walkman on FM.

Today's ride: 160 km (99 miles)
Total: 811 km (504 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0