May 12, 1986 - Edinburgh to York (by train) to Skipton (by bike) - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 12, 1986

May 12, 1986 - Edinburgh to York (by train) to Skipton (by bike)

MY MOST TIRED day yet - after only 68 km of cycling. I suppose it has something to do with a sore knee and ankle.

This morning I was up at 8 am for the breakfast call so I got a few things packed and went out for breakfast. Sharon and Ann were a bit late so I just sat and looked out the window. I ended up eating their bacon since they're vegetarians so I was extra-full. We quickly packed and were off to the train station (Waverley).

They waited with me for a while but I suggested they leave as I wasn't sure where or when I was going. I got prices to Carlisle and York and since I was worried about Bike, I paid the £24.50 and was on the 10:35 am Intercity 125 to York.

I couldn't believe how fast it was. It must have been anywhere from the 110-150 km/h range. And smooth. And silent. I sat and planned out a new route and I talked with a woman originally from Vancouver, now in Barbados, who is over with her husband to visit. I sat in a semi-dozing state for the rest of the time.

We arrived into York at 1:09 pm (right on time), got Bike who had a few scratches (!!) and left town by heading west. I'd decided I'd eventually go to the Lake District or swing south to Wales and the Cotswolds.

But, I should have listened to the weather. Gale winds from the west. How is a person supposed to cycle into the wind when it is really quite difficult just standing in it? I actually had to pedal down 13% grades and in first gear as the wind was so bad. I almost went over the brink I was so upset. And there was nothing I could do about it. And the wind blew. And blew. I stopped in both Harrogate and just east of it to ask about a rental moped but nobody had any so I pressed on. I suppose I could have turned around but I didn't want to return to York again.

Once I hit the dales, the last straw was in hand. Now there were huge hills to conquer. Boring hills. I decided to put on the Walkman and I danced with joy when I found dead batteries. So I pressed on. At one point I stopped to try to get a ride in a van but too few went by and those that did kept going and didn't stop. They did like my flag, though. So I pressed on.

Skipton slowly got closer until I was five km away. By now I was half walking, half riding. I saw a B&B sign but it was three km from the road. So I pressed on. Just over the next hill I found a B&B at a farm so I pulled in and yes, she had a room, but I'd have to pay £10 as there were three beds in the room.

I put my bike into the garage then put my things into a beautiful and bright room. She told me to come to tea as soon as I'd done. So I did. In the common room were a threesome from Holland and two girls from Bristol. The three of us ended up going to supper where, of course, we compared Canada to the UK. One is a nurse - she makes CAD$10k per year! They like good tunes - Simple Minds, Dire Straits, U2, Echo and the Bunnymen and the Stranglers.

They are here for a week or so to do some walking in the Dales, which are actually quite beautiful now that my leg is resting. I think I shall have to amputate from above the right knee. I may stay tomorrow to see the Dales on foot and give myself a rest from pedaling (already?!). Depending on how I feel, I'll continue either north or south on Wednesday after a calm break with no tourist sights; only 'moody' land. I am tired.

As I lay here in an electric-blanket-heated bed, I hear the wind shaking the house. Why did I cycle into it? Does it have anything to do with polar bears?

Today's ride: 68 km (42 miles)
Total: 435 km (270 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0