May 11, 1986 - Edinburgh Exploring (on foot) - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

May 11, 1986

May 11, 1986 - Edinburgh Exploring (on foot)

DURING THE NIGHT the people next door were relatively loud. I think one of them was locked out so he knocked continuously until he was finally let in a few hours later. I fell back asleep until 8 am when breakfast was announced.

We went up to eat, got ready and we were off. We drove to the east end of the Royal Mile to Hollyrood House but we had an hour's wait before the doors opened at 10:30 am.

Right beside the car park there were two large hills known as Arthur's Seat. Instead of sitting around, I decided to go up the hill. It took fifteen minutes of relatively easy ascending until I was at the peak - the windswept peak. The view was great. I was able to see all of Edinburgh, out the Firth of Forth to the North Sea, plus all of the other hills around the city.

I went back down the other side to the car and we went into the palace. This would be the last day of the visits since they were expecting the Queen's representative for the church. Also, the visit was cut shorter.

The castle was used by the later Scot royalty. Mary, Queen of Scots, James VI/I, the two Charles, and James VII/II all used it. During the French Revolution the French royalty fled to Scotland where they were given sanctuary. Charles X and his son were here.

After the palace we walked up the Royal Mile which was really old. But, most buildings were covered with soot from the Industrial Revolution. We went into a few 'Joe Tourist' shops where I picked out a postcard of Arthur's Seat to send home.

As we continued up the hill, we checked out many tartan stores where I actually found the Irvine colours. It was first used in 1898 after having used the Forbes colours. I would have bought a tie in the colours but I didn't think I'd use light green and blue for £5.95!

I was sort of looking for something for Dad's birthday which I'm a month late for. I decided on a deep blue, all-wool sweater with a light blue gryphon of Scotland. I think he'll love it - very tasteful and expensive enough - £28.

We continued up the hill and wandered into St. Giles Church where Knox began preaching so many years ago. In the immediate vicinity were also the parliament buildings. At the top of the Royal Mile we finally came to Edinburgh Castle. Most originating from Medieval times, there were seven gates to get in. It was perched at the top of the hill with great views out the firth. Inside is the Scottish war memorial where the names of those who died in both wars are inscribed in books available for viewing by the general public. We also saw the Banquet Hall which had many swords and sabres all the way around the walls. I want swords on my walls, too.

We wandered through the museum which held all kinds of Scottish war memorabilia through the last 400 years. Included were many swords and seven Victoria Crosses from the 20th Century.

Making our way through some back streets, we returned to the car and went to Princes Street near the train station. As Ann and Sharon walked through the park, I just sat and looked at the Victorian buildings and all the people. There are strange people here, too; one had on a black and red leather jacket with studs and a chain through his nose.

After a short rest, we drove to see the 'Greyfriar's Bobby' monuments. The dog was faithful to his master even after John Gray (Auld Jack) died. He used to go into the cemetery every day and curl up on the grave.

We drove back to the B&B and I had a new room. It was upstairs and was a high-ceilinged, large-windowed, much better, Victorian room. It also had the large wooden shutter blinds as seen in most mansions, The ceiling itself had very fancy work. A bit of work and the room could be awesome. As it was, it was an incredible step from last night.

All three of us were starved so we walked down the road looking for a restaurant and ended up at an Indian restaurant. Was the food hot enough! We went to buy yoghourt and milk to cool ourselves down afterwards. (It cuts the heat.) Once I was used to it, I loved it. I ate like a pig, so it was good that we had a long walk back.

I showered then came down to watch tv with Ann and Sharon then filled out the postcard to send home. I had Ann and Sharon take a number of things back to London for me. They're also going to send the card for me. I'll be in York then try to bike to the west coast.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0