June 2, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea and London Tower for the Day - UK: Learning to Tour (Tour 1) - 1986 🇬🇧 - CycleBlaze

June 2, 1986

June 2, 1986 - Leigh-on-Sea and London Tower for the Day

TODAY I SAW a bit more. But, there was a slight more. I still hadn't heard from Ann and Sharon by 9 pm. I want my things back! I will call them when I'm in London tomorrow and go right to the house if I must. I don't eant to get any more bothered than I already am.

I was up this morning at 8 am and we ate then I got ready and I had a ride to Leigh though I got onto the train alone. It is really neat outside with all of the mist - right out of Dickens or Conan Doyle. At least there was no rain all day other than a few drops during the afternoon.

I took the train into London and ended up almost falling asleep. At the station I took the other exit so I wasn't exactly certain where I ended up. I wandered around a bit and ended up walking into a few shops.

Then I went over to the Tower of London after taking a picture of it and Tower Bridge through the mists. I got a ticket and found that a tour was starting just as I got in, so I joined it. The Beefeaters were dressed in their ceremonial garb rather than the normal red and black. This was the 33rd anniversary of the Queen's accession to the throne. It was a nice bonus to see such colourful costume.

The tour was quite good. All of the towers were pointed out, then I looked around myself. I saw five of the six ravens which have always been there. Supposedly if the ravens leave, the monarch dies and London perishes. I also saw the bloody tower where the young princes were murdered by their uncle who seized the throne for himself. Some years later, Sir Walter Raleigh was imprisoned here by Elizabeth I, then beheaded out in the courtyard where two of Henry VIII's wives were also beheaded. Also executed were Dudley (19) and his wife, Lady Jane Grey (17) who would have been on the throne if Bloody Mary hadn't had them killed.

I spent a long time in the White Tower which was the original tower built by William the Conqueror. Inside were numerous armours dating from the 10th Century up to the present. There were swords, armour, spears, guns, and any other defensive item. It really was quite good. In another tower were the oriental armours. I'd never seen Japanese armour before - I'd never seen such elaborate armour. It was simply beautiful. I think I'd like to have some.

Of course, the best part of it all was one particular room in which the lights were down low and the door was 60 cm of steel. The Crown Jewels. Sceptres. Swords. Crowns. Diamonds. Rubies. More jewels. Gold. Silver. Sparkle. Lustre. I saw the jewels the Sovereign wears at the coronation. Those very ones. Purple velvet. Ermine. The most beautiful of anything of the sort.

Once I was through the jewels, I left the Tower with my mouth hanging open. I went out to the main gates to watch a special event. As it's the 33rd anniversary of Her Majesty the Queen's being on the throne, there was a 21 gun salute by the King's Honourable Regiment. I can't believe how lucky I've been with such things. The guns were loud but very impressive. I felt quite honoured to have been there at that time.

After having seen the Tower, I left to walk around the city. I went along the same route as I'd taken on the bike and went as far as Oxford Circus on foot. All along the way, I stopped in a few book stores to find a nicely-bound book or two which I could read on the flight home and perhaps the train ride between London and Leigh. I didn't find anything all the way and when I walked along Regent Street I knew it was hopeless. I'd hoped to find a second hand book shop with piles of old books where I could browse for days and find a few treasures. No luck. I ended up stopping in a store near the Tower that I'd seen in the morning on my way to the Tower. There I found some nicely-bound Dickens books for a good price so I bought 'Hard Times' and 'The Curiosity Shop'.

On my walk I got a photo of Picadilly Circus with Eros. I'd have taken the underground but everything was just so nice to see in the semi-mists. When I finally arrived at Oxford Street, I went into a china shop where I bought them a small plate in Jasper series of light blue of the Queen's 60th birthday. Unfortunately, I couldn't get a holder for it.

I decided I was quite tired, so I took the underground back to Tower Hill. I bought he books then I hopped onto the train for Leigh. I tried to read Dickens but the train bounced around then I fell asleep.

When I got to Leigh I called Uncle Frank who came to pick me up and we came home for a great pizza. Aunt Marjorie puts in cheese, onions and mustard in the dough then on the pizza. She first fries the onions and mushrooms. There is no tomato sauce. It was great.

After supper we cleaned up then came into the lounge. They've been watching TV but I've been filling this in for two days. Sharon finally did call. They got in last night. I will meet Sharon below Lord Nelson in Trafalgar Square (I can't believe I'm writing this) to pick up my things. We'll exchange information on each of our trips, then I imagine we might go to the National At Gallery which is right there.

I believe that on Wednesday, the three of us will go to the British Museum and London Museum then on Thursday I'll stay here to pack Bike and just be here for my last day in the beautiful country that I don't want to leave.

Being Monday evening on the US seaboard coast, Shelley must be on an ocean cruiser on her way to Bermuda. I'll bet it's a bit warmer than here. But, it's not cold here. During the days lately, it hasn't been clear but it's been 17 to 20 C. Quite alright.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0