Day 90 Kinston NC to Wallace NC - 2 Biking Hobos - CycleBlaze

September 15, 2023

Day 90 Kinston NC to Wallace NC

Today it was 61° when we left this morning. It was a bit chilly so I doubled my jackets. Thank goodness we were riding with the tail wind and not a head wind. We needed to stop to get water and I noticed this mural across the street. I loved it but wish the telephone poles weren’t in the way. The ride was typical with the crappy roads. Even though we were going by houses and things to see, I felt like I was on the road to no where. We did have a few times of excitement

I loved this mural
Heart 0 Comment 3
Debbie ColeYes, but do you love okra?
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Lois AlexanderTo Debbie ColeNo I don’t like okra
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Lois AlexanderTo Debbie ColeNo I don’t like okra
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0
I wish I had the money to rehab these abandoned houses. They are awesome
Heart 1 Comment 0
Town of Wallace water tower
Heart 0 Comment 0

when dogs decided to run after us. One actually made his way to run around my bike.  Luckily we didn’t have a big problem with them. After 20 miles we had to get onto route 41. The road was real smooth but was extremely busy. Lots of semi trucks and regular traffic. There wasn’t a shoulder  so very stressful. We went 10 miles and then stopped for lunch. After lunch we had another 22 miles on route 41. The funny thing is, at the traffic lights the road changed. No more nice and smooth. Back to crappy bumps and holes. It was such a relief to get to the motel. I only was able to get a few pictures today. You can’t stop as easily on a busy road as on a back road. Tomorrow we head to South Carolina. 

Today's ride: 52 miles (84 km)
Total: 62 miles (100 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0