Day 8 Republic to Kettle Falls - 2 Biking Hobos - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2023

Day 8 Republic to Kettle Falls

Today we were lucky enough to get a ride to our next destination. Yesterday really wiped me out. We have been climbing almost every day since we left Seattle. We were Very Fortunate to stay at a warm showers run by Patty and Rob Slagle. They not only opened their house to us but also themselves. Patty was very open about giving us a ride today as her and Rob were going golfing in Colville which went past where we were going to be staying. So we had a relaxing delicious breakfast of fresh sour dough bread French toast topped with a huckleberry compote. Patty also made smoothies that were yummy. So around 11:00 we packed the bikes and bags in the truck and off we went. It would have been a 10 mile climb and another almost 40 miles.When we got to Kettle Falls,I just seem exhausted and even told Gary I could take a nap. Now everybody that knows me, I never nap unless I am sick and even then it is hard for me. Well we both ended up laying down for a couple of hours (though I didn’t sleep)and it helped a bit. After Patty and Rob finished golf they actually came back and got us so we all could go out to dinner together. We had a nice Italian dinner and great conversation. Again, this is what makes the hard rides worth while. There are so many wonderful people in the world and I am so glad we got to meet two of them in Patty and Rob. Tomorrow we head to Ione WA.  Almost 50 miles.

This is Rob and Patty. Wonderful people
Heart 1 Comment 0
This is Hubs and I and we are wonderful people too. 😜
Heart 5 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Teresa StoneYes, you are wonderful people!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Edward GriecoGod Speed , Keep her rolling ,
Reply to this comment
10 months ago