Day 5 Winthrop WA to Okanogan WA - 2 Biking Hobos - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023

Day 5 Winthrop WA to Okanogan WA

When we got up in Winthrop today the temp was 51 degrees. We were headed to Okanogan WA.  We biked almost 10 miles getting to the town of Twisp to have breakfast at the Cinnamon Twisp and after pedaled another 2 1/2 miles to the base of the pass. We were able to ride on and off and had to push quite a few miles as it was a 6% grade up for 10-12 miles. At one point we stopped and Hubs noticed a self service produce and flowers across the street. He was over there for over 10 minutes and I couldn’t figure what he was actually doing. (I told myself while he was busy if a pick up truck came by I would hitch but not one truck came by). Hubs actually made me a beautiful bouquet of flowers. Onward and upward we went. When the Sun came out it warmed up so off came some clothes. We continued on and then decided to take a rest. Hubs got out the chairs and we sat and had a snack for about 1/2 hour. When it was time to go I started pushing ahead as Hubs wasn’t quite ready to leave. A big truck came from the other direction and turned in to where we were sitting. He backed out and then stopped and got out. Hmmm, is he offering us a ride. I stopped and waited but it didn’t happen as hubs came pushing around the truck. I kept pushing and pushing as at times Hubs was able to get on his bike to ride. I don’t know how long I pushed but I saw a spot to stop along the guard rails. I figured I would be able to lean the bike on them and I could rest against them also. Hubs finally arrived and stopped too. On the other side of the road I noticed that big truck again backing out of a side road and down the road on the wrong side of the street. He eventually pulled on our side just ahead of our bikes. Then another truck came out of the side road. I thought he wanted to park where our bikes were so I started to move my bike back. He went in front of the other truck. The big truck guy got out and told us that they were going to be dropping four trees so the road was going to be closed so they could either give us a ride to the top of the pass or we would have to wait. What??? Did I hear that right! Biking Angels actually finding us and not us finding them. We took the ride. Again it saved us a couple of hours of uphill pushing. Thank you. When we got dropped off we did bundle up a bit but not as much as yesterday’s downhill. This was a 7 mile 6% downhill. Amazing again. Though all good things must come to an end. We were told we would have another short uphill but it would be steep and that it was. We pushed up and it was probably a little over a quarter mile and then downhill again. Somewhere on the downhill we noticed a biker coming the opposite way and Hubs wanted to talk to him. He actually left Massachusetts in March. We chatted a while and went on our way. The Sun came out and it got warm. By the time we got into Okanogan it was 75°. We are staying at a Quality Inn and saw a sign saying we are on an Indian Reservation and to abide by the tribal codes. We got to the room and dropped off our bags and headed out to dinner. What a difference biking without bags all over the bike. Hubs was in heaven again as he got to have another awesome IPA. Tomorrow we head to Tonasket WA. Relatively no big hills. 🤞🤞🤞🤞

The bikes are ready to roll for another day leaving Winthrop WA
Heart 0 Comment 0
When in the west, you gotta take a picture of a wagon
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hubs coming up the pass.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just another view of the landscape
Heart 1 Comment 0
I Love when he brings me flowers
Heart 6 Comment 0
Hubs neatly fixed them to stay on my bike 💜
Heart 2 Comment 0
Just sitting an chilling for a nice rest
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hubs using the selfie stick on our break.
Heart 2 Comment 0
This is Nate, our #1 Biking Angel today as he got the ball rolling for us to get a ride.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gary and Justin getting the bikes on the back of the truck. Hydraulics baby!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Justin, #2 Biking Angel today. He is the one that actually drove us to the top.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bikes coming off the truck and times to give hugs.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is Bill Cody that left MA in March for his cross country adventure.
Heart 0 Comment 0
We stopped to read a bit of history. Didn’t realize sheep could be such a threat.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Time for food and brew.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Gary with his delicious IPA and me with my Ice Lemonade.
Heart 1 Comment 1
DOUGLAS HEINSWishing you happy trails 🚴
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 38 miles (61 km)
Total: 3,320 miles (5,343 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0