It’s a Small World - Two Old Guys Take On A Continent - CycleBlaze

August 9, 2023

It’s a Small World

Guess Who I Met

My tour has been over for about 10 days. My bike has been shipped from Portland, and I am anxiously awaiting it.

I do have another bike though… I ride a short wheelbase recumbent P-38. If I’m not working around the house or riding, I sit on my porch and watch the people go by. I believe the Adventure Cycling northern tier route goes right in front of my house. But that’s beside the point.

I was finishing up a ride yesterday afternoon and see two cyclists coming toward me with panniers. I beckoned them to stop to talk, and asked if they were touring and where they were headed. We talked for a few minutes and then one of them said “Is that Ed”?

It turns out I ran into Jim and Michele as they were heading across northern Ohio on their way to Boston. John and I met them around June 28th after we crossed Togwatee pass in Wyoming as we were headed toward Yellowstone.

Like I said, it’s a small world. Who would’ve thought I would run into cyclists we met an our tour over a month after we met them, especially in my own little neighborhood.

To Jim and Michele I hope you have a continued good and safe tour to Boston.

June 28 near the Hatchet Resort in Wyoming
Heart 3 Comment 0
August 8 near Fremont OH
Heart 3 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 0