Day 87 - July 29 - Homeward Bound - Two Old Guys Take On A Continent - CycleBlaze

July 29, 2023

Day 87 - July 29 - Homeward Bound

I’m Leaving on a Jet Plane

This is Ed’s story as John has his own,

Today was travel day.

Yes I had a hard time sleeping. I woke up at 4:30 and just drifted in and out until John needed to get up.

John, however found out his flight was delayed 2 hours, but I will let him tell his story.

Breakfast at the Embassy Suites was pancakes and potatoes w/veggies. Oh and coffee.

As my airport shuttle wasn’t until 10:00, I sat around the room watching Lincoln Lawyer episodes on Netflix. I had time to watch 3 and finish the first season.

I got to the airport a little early and made it through security after getting bag tags. I was waived through the whole body scanner for some reason. Maybe it was my good looks, or maybe I just didn’t look dangerous.

I met John who was still waiting for a flight. We chatted for about an hour before I headed to my gate…D7….and the flight was still on time.

This was the second brewery in the area as John saw a different one.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I told you in the journal last week I’d be back….and I am.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I opted to fly first class and was glad I did as the plane was packed. When i made my reservations the only main cabin aisle seats available were the middle seat on each side. Four hours cramped was not in the cards.

Snacks, 2 glasses of wine, and a specialty vegetarian meal were the icing on the cake. 

Lunch
Heart 2 Comment 0

I also finally watched Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 3….something I tried to do the entire bike tour. I’m sure I will watch it again as I’m sure I missed something, plus the earphones they provided kept falling out.

The airlines provide a lot of info on your flight. You know where you are and what’s going on the whole way.

Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingThat's a decent tail wind!!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Ed ChimahuskyTo Mike AylingSort of cold outside though
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

My daughter and my wife picked me up at the airport. That was a nice unexpected surprise.  We made it home successfully and it was good to be home after almost 3 months. Plus my wife put my beer in the fridge so it was nice and cold when I got home.

Until a later recap…happy, well, whatever!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Dorothy ShinstockGreat accomplishment!
Great job!
Welcome home!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago