Day 35 - June 7 - Mankato, KS to Franklin, NE - Two Old Guys Take On A Continent - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2023

Day 35 - June 7 - Mankato, KS to Franklin, NE

We’re Not in Kansas Any More, Toto!

Ed’s Story

We woke up at 5:30. It was still dark outside but we knew it was time to get up to hit the road. Since most of the bags were packed the tonight before, we were able to be on the road by 6:40.

I guess it is true that you will find a Tesla charger anywhere. This was found outside the hotel.
Heart 3 Comment 0

On the way out of town, I stopped at the post office to mail the cards to the grandchildren; and that it was back on the road.

As we’re leaving town, I notice a Waste Disposal Ahead sign. Shortly after that, I noticed the cemetery on the left-hand side of the road. I know that’s not what they were referring to, but found it funny myself.

I thought, after the fact, that if I stop to use a restroom along the side of the road that I need to be concerned about snakes. We don’t have poisonous snakes where I’m from.

Another long day of riding was ahead of us. Our first major town, in fact the only town in the first 31 miles, was Smith Center. We found the local coffee shop “2-Cup Coffee.”

When I mentioned to the woman what we were doing, she said “At least there are no hills in Kansas”. She’s obviously not a biker.

If you ride up a mile or two long hill, with a grade of 1 to 2%, you’re on a hill. You feel each mile.

Now this is what you call a wooden bench. This was next-door to the coffee shop.
Heart 4 Comment 1
Nancy GrahamBefore reading what this actually was, I saw a large hammer on its side and wondered what that was about. Better as a bench.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

As I look ahead at the pictures  John has already loaded into his portion of the journal, I realize I might as well just quit now since I already took a few of them myself.

After leaving Smith Center, we continued west for about 8 miles, then turned north to the Home on the Range cabin. John said since he found it he gets to discuss it. We had our on the road lunch at this place.

Once we left the home, we had about 16 miles to go to get to Franklin. We came across two touring cyclists heading south on the road we were heading north on. They started in Fort Collins, Colorado and were headed to Washington DC. They did mention that the city park in Arapahoe, where we are spending tomorrow night is a great place.

Since Leisa and Matt are headed in the opposite direction to us, we wish them headwinds along the way (which would be a tailwind for us.)
Heart 4 Comment 0


After a couple more miles of riding, we left Kansas and entered Nebraska. Only 6 miles to go to Franklin.

Hello Nebraska. We will be riding in you for about four days.
Heart 6 Comment 0

When we reached Franklin, we went to our WarmShowers hosts’ house, where we were warmly greeted by Amy. Her husband Mike was still at work. She offered us lemonade, and there were plenty of cut up vegetables for us to eat.

We were able to shower and wash our clothes. Since we still have six days of biking before Fort Collins, heading out with a fresh set of clean clothes is another great start.

We are camping in the living room. John has the couch and I am set up on a cot. I laid on it for a few minutes and I think I will sleep great tonight.

Bed sweet bed!
Heart 5 Comment 0

Amy served a great dinner. Stirfry with chicken separate; brown rice; salad; watermelon; and a selection of fresh vegetables and grapes.

Tomorrow we have a 58 mile ride to Arapahoe. As I noted above, I am looking forward to the campsite. Additionally, there is a barbershop about 2 1/2 blocks from our campsite. I may just get a haircut, but I will let you know tomorrow night.

So until next time, happy biking!


John’s Story

As we move further west in this time zone the sun is coming up later each day even as the days are getting longer.

Early start means long shadows.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We did not divert our route to visit the geographic center of the United States. I figured the coastline has changed enough since the spot was originally determined that it’s really not there anymore anyway. Besides, no matter where you are you’re always in the center of something.
Heart 3 Comment 0
We all know about cattle guards. These are guard cattle. There is no way they were going to let me cross that road and get to the pond.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Wind and solar in one small package.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Other than the town of Smith Center, halfway through today’s ride, the only other location of note was the cabin where the song Home on the Range originated. It was originally written as a poem, and music was added later. In 1947 it became the official Kansas state song.
Heart 3 Comment 0

For more of the story:  Home on the Range

Bing Crosby sings Home on the Range

Another use for post rock.
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Home on the Range cabin.
Heart 5 Comment 0
When I called the number yesterday to ask if they had water at the cabin I was told there was a hydrant. I’m assuming the water is potable. I’m pretty sure it’s just colloidal clay in suspension in the water that makes it look like lemonade.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ed forgot to mention that we needed to leave Kansas to get to Nebraska
Heart 4 Comment 0
Our hosts Michael and Amy
Heart 5 Comment 0
Finnigan the one-eyed American Staffordshire Terrier also did a good job of making us feel at home. Sorta weird when she winks at you with her non-eye.
Heart 7 Comment 0

Almost forgot tonight’s Pernell Roberts song.

Mary Ann

Bedtime. good night!

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 2,302 miles (3,705 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0