An unexpected journey - Three Reasons for Riding Across Europe - CycleBlaze

August 11, 2015

An unexpected journey

No we haven't just come back from a visit to Hobbiton, we did that last month.

As you probably have realised from the journal my cycling and general stamina have gradually been getting worse and worse. Yesterday we set out from the beautiful Hann Munde and in many ways I didn't do too badly but it was a struggle and by the time we got to Geilselwerder at 30 km we saw a tourist information and decided that the sensible thing to do was to find a base to leave our gear and see if there was a nearby hospital. The lady in information was really great she found us a Pension nearby walked us to it and called a taxi to the Klink und Rehabilitationszenrum Lippoldsberb. It was a somewhat strange place. During World War 2 it had been a well hidden munitions factory, then after the war it became a TB Sanitorian and now is a small local hospital and rehabilitation centre. It did of course have no emergency department but eventually we found a ward and Marianna the charge nurse took a bit of a history. Somewhat difficult with no common language! There was an Iranian Doctor there with some English so we made progress. So complete with my hi viz cycle gear I was admitted and hooked up to a drip and various other contraptions. The place is rather stark with strange doors that look as if they are entrances to cells. My cell has two beds in it and they are letting Ken stay in the other one - 45E a night including all meals which is a pretty good deal.

Surprisingly we slept pretty well and this morning my blood results had improved enough for me to be sent back to Hann Munden hospital for a lung scan. The transport was rather spectacular with two paramedics and I was strapped to a gurney. Cedric, the paramedic who sat with me, was such a nice, kind man who chatted in has somewhat limited English the whole way. Hann Munden has a much more sophisticated and slick hospital. I was whisked into to radiology dept. where one of the staff there said "We really get some weird people coming here, last year we had a lady from Brazil". The equipment seemed state of the art and I fairly rapidly had a CT of my chest. This much to Kens and my relief was negative and back I came to Lippoldsberg by ambulance. The conclusion they have come to is that they will keep me overnight and if I am OK in the morning send me on my way.

Not how I planned to see Germany
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cedric loads me up
Heart 0 Comment 0
The hospital
Heart 0 Comment 0
It is hidden in the Forest
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 30 km (19 miles)
Total: 304 km (189 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0