Minami to Shishikui: My 57th birthday - The third step ... The rising sun upon our backs - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2017

Minami to Shishikui: My 57th birthday

After a good night's sleep we once again woke up soon after four am but Leigh couldn't wish me happy birthday until after seven o'clock because of the seven hour time difference between Japan and South Africa. By this stage we were pretty much packed up and we hit the road soon afterwards along with the biker dude.

The closest I am going to get to a birthday card today.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Being my birthday, and having a slightly tender rear, I didn't feel like doing too much distance today so we planned to have a gentle cycle down route 147 which hugs the coast heading to Cape Muroto. Unfortunately, this road is closed to cyclists so we had to turn back and carry on down route 55. The road was pretty busy to start off with (we seem to be timing our departures with rush hour) but soon quietened down and we took our time as we made our way first of up the hills as we headed inland and then downhill to Mugi Town on the coast. Here we pulled in to a Lawsons to abuse their WiFi while we looked for somewhere to spend the night. We managed to get the last room at Pavilion Surf, a surf shop that has accommodation that I had used as part of my fake itinerary when applying for our Japanese visas.

Beer and noodles at Pavilion Surf.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 42 km (26 miles)
Total: 372 km (231 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0