The deed is done - Choosing What's Next - CycleBlaze

September 20, 2022

The deed is done

Let's get this party ROLLING

WELL, I DID IT.  The bike has been ordered, spec'ed more-or-less as detailed in the previous post.

It'll have a paint scheme reminiscent of Treks of the mid 1980s, with dark panels on the seat and down tubes contrasting with an overall lighter, but not bright, main color.  PPG metal flake, rather than solid, will give it just that extra bit of shine on a sunny day,  without being flashy.

PPG Cumulus Gray accented with Dark Gray, both metallic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It'll have the script Rodriguez decal on the down tube, and the R+E trillium on the head tube and/or seat tube.

Shown here in black, they'll be silver on the final product to stand out against the dark background.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The hubs will be White Industries XMR 36 hole, black, disc compatible with standard quick release, no through axle.

Mine will be black rather than blue.
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingBeautiful hubs!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Mike AylingAgreed. They're not quite so pretty in black but I hope they'll be creamy smooth when spinning.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

Hoops will be 700c (622) ultralight, capable of fitting tires up to about 1.5 inches.

I've opted to go with the Phil Wood bottom bracket upgrade, which I view as essentially bombproof.  

Can't go wrong with Phil.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Kelly IniguezYes! I'm a big Phil fan also. I went for bright pink hubs and skewers. Over the years, the front has faded to pale pink, but the rear is still bright (protected by the panniers from the sun).
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

It'll be mated to a 172.5 mm road triple crank, 48/36/24 in front driving an 11-32 9 speed cassette at the back end.  The rear changer will be a Shimano long cage 9 speed actuated by bar end shifters, as will the front microshift triple.  Show me a wall and I'll climb it.

Stopping power will be provided by hybrid cable actuated disc brakes with hydraulic pistons.   I'm not sure of brand and model.

A 44 cm handlebar will keep me on the straight and narrow.

It'll have a kickstand mount and stand, so I will not be dependent on finding a suitable post or wall to lean the bike on.  Hopefully that will make the process of loading the panniers onto the bike easier.

Estimated delivery time is six to thirteen weeks.  I can't wait! 

Update 10/21/2022

I got an email from Rodriguez today: my frame has been built and is next in line for paint.  Woo hoo!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonSo did you spring for the bottle opener? I was sorry to see that it’s an add-on now. It was standard when I got my Adventure 5 years ago.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonI did.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Scott AndersonTo Keith AdamsSmart! It should increase its resale value.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonResale, hell. It's going to be sold at auction with the rest of my estate once I have shuffled off this mortal coil.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezChristmas is going to come early for you this year! Where can you go for a December tour . . . hmmm . . . .

As far as what happens to your bicycles when you are no longer pedaling - a friend has a garage business of buying, fixing up, and selling used bikes. He says it would be quite an issue for his non cycling wife to deal with. He has a deal with a nearby bicycle buddy to come over and dispose of all bicycle related items.

I've never considered what will happen to my bicycles when I'm gone. I'm glad some people are thinking that far ahead!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezI expect I will dispose of mine in various ways, when I no longer feel like I can ride. Hopefully that will be a way off yet.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezTo Keith AdamsHave I told you the dollar per mile rule?

Someone told me years ago that after you have cycled one mile for every dollar you spent on the bike, it is 'paid for' and you can buy a new one guilt free.

I've repeated that rule many times. Then a guy asked me what about the resell value? Example - what if you buy a $1,000. bike, but you sell it for $500. Does that mean that you only need to ride 500 miles before it is paid for? He totally messed with my thought process with that question!

Don't forget to post photos and thoughts when the bike arrives. We need to hear the end of the story. Of course, the best ending will be reading about your first tour on the new bike!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezPretty much every bike I have has long since passed the point where they have as many miles as they cost in dollars. And way more smiles and happy memories, too.

Yes, this journal will come to a close once the bike is in hand and has had a maiden voyage, albeit probably not in the form of a full tour. Perhaps an overnight excursion to the county campground 20 miles away.

I'm already planning, plotting, and scheming over what my next tour may be. I have a couple ideas in mind; of course there will be journals to chronicle them.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago