Cochrane - The eighth step ... Patagonia etc once more. - CycleBlaze

January 19, 2020 to January 21, 2020

Cochrane

The last three days seem to have sped by.  Leigh is back on her feet and feeling almost normal.  While only yesterday she was hardly able to eat, tonight she wolfed down two plates of curry and rice.  Just as well because tomorrow we tackle the road to Puerto Yungay, just over a hundred and twenty kilometers but climbing more than two thousand meters in the process.  We are going to take it very easy and spread it out over four days because we only need to be at the Yungay ferry on Saturday afternoon.  This will allow Leigh to ease back into things.  The downside is that I will have to carry more food!

I have spent the time in Cochrane completing some important work that I have been avoiding for a few weeks.  Every cloud etc, so they say.

I have only climbed on my bike twice to ride the half a kilometer to the shops and back.  Instead, I have walked a lot.  To the shops, to the lavanderia, to the river to some birding etc.  Over most of this trip I have been struggling with a sore tendon behind my right knee, something I have never had problems with before, so hopefully the rest will do it good.  The road southwards out of Cochrane starts with a big climb but reports are that the road surface will be better than the one going northwards.  With all the time at our disposal we can afford to take it easy and hopefully I can avoid straining my knee too much.

Today's ride: 2 km (1 miles)
Total: 956 km (594 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0