Pleasant Bay to Wreck Cove - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

September 28, 2012

Pleasant Bay to Wreck Cove

The day started early(ish) leaving the hostel at 0750 and almost straight away climbing up North Mountain. At last I had been rewarded with a hard climb. When I dropped back down to Cape North and had bought groceries for the day I saw a group of about 8 riders riding "the loop", fully supported and with a SAG wagon. I stopped to chat to one of them and got some useful route advice for the road ahead.

Looking across Aspy Bay.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I now headed around the Alternative Scenic Route via White Point, which was one of the highlights of the whole of Cape Breton. The first half of the road was freshly laid tarmac - beautifully smooth. There were great views, good climbs and virtually no other vehicles.

Another view of Aspy Bay.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After lunch by the lighthouse at Neils Harbour I stopped to use the wifi at the library at Ingonish. Although there were no other campsites for 50km I felt it was too early to stop, so carried on, looking for a place to wild camp or having the possibility of a long day.

I stopped for an ice cream at the base of Smokey Mountain and was warned by almost everyone I spoke to about the upcoming climb, but as is often the case it turned out to be an easy one. The descent was unforgettable though, the road was steep, continually twisting and turning and there was nearly no other traffic, so I was able to use the full road. Yee haa.

Coming down Smokey Mountain.
Heart 0 Comment 0

As I approached Wreck Cove I saw a spot perfect for wild camping, but there was no water there and I was desperate for a wash and my water bottles were nearly all empty. Half a mile further on there was a river, so after doing the necessaries I was back at the good spot, and was able to watch the moon reflected on the sea before climbing into my cold bag.

All set up for the night near Wreck Cove.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Is it really a month since the last full moon?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 68 miles (109 km)
Total: 8,202 miles (13,200 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0