Hedley to Osoyoos - Tea for Tim - CycleBlaze

May 29, 2012

Hedley to Osoyoos

The ride from the campsite to Keremeos was famtastic, passing through a fertile valley with great views and stopping to watch an osprey circling and landing on her nest.

Views in the Simalkameen valley.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Riding into Keremeos I passed vast expanses of orchards, and when I saw a farm shop selling the produce I was unable to pass it by. If I thought this was good, imagine my response when I realised that they sold samosas too.

Heart 0 Comment 0

After meeting up with Curtis in an ultra friendly and helpful visitor information centre, and using their wifi, I decided to head to tonights stop, Osoyoos, the scenic way, passing through some extremely quiet and rural roads that were perfect cycling, and saw a marmot on the way, and even though they are classed as rodents I was excited to see one for the first time.

Heart 1 Comment 0

It wasn't by chance that my scenic diversion took me through the town of Oliver, not only famed as the wine growing capital of Canada, but also sharing the name of my nephew, and my daughters favourite teddy bear.

Welcome to Oliver, or the closest I could find to a sign saying so!
Heart 0 Comment 0

After all this excitement I finally rolled into the Nk'mip campground to meet up with Curtis and Pascal again, a site made only just affordable by being split 3 ways.

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 2,224 miles (3,579 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0