The bike: RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

The bike: RANS Stratus XP in Aluminum

I've gone through several incarnations as a touring cyclist. For the past several years I've been a light weight, hotel staying tourist. My perfectly outfitted Alaska touring bike no longer fits the job. I have been riding a lightweight (for the size) recumbent in Aluminum.

I use Rotor cranks as a concession to my cranky knees. Pun intended. 46-36-24 chain rings. 11-32 9 speed cassette. I have the dubious honor of being able to balance at 2.5 mph for extended distances. Now that I have lost weight from both the engine and the bike, my average speed on 6-7% climbs is closer to 4 mph than 2.5 mph. Yay!

As a larger rider, I've had occasional issues with broken spokes and cracked rims. Perhaps that is why I prefer custom wheels. Phil Wood is my hub of choice. I've had this bike several years, but have not had the cash to spend on a custom wheel set. This year's six week, remote tour seemed to be a now or never excuse to buy.

Ryan builds the rear wheel.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Jude holds my new wheel set.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oooh la la! Custom Wheels from Sugar Wheel Works in Portland, OR. Pink Phil Wood hubs were $40. extra each. Matching skewers were $125. Sometimes a girl just has to splurge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0