Sipapu-Angel Fire: Rural NM at it's finest. - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2016

Sipapu-Angel Fire: Rural NM at it's finest.

It was freezing all night last night and still freezing this morning. It was 33 degrees! We had agreed on a 7 AM leave time, but no one was a hurry to get out in the cold. Jacinto's percolator was put to good use making coffee. There was a very civil discussion at this early hour on gun control and government oversight. I always get nervous discussing politics and religion, but everyone was level headed. I did let out a mental sigh of relief when everyone got up to get ready.

I was so happy last night to put my water and Spiz in the freezer. I would have cold drinks all day today. Yep, I sure did. Lucky me. I didn't appreciate the cold until way later in the morning.

Tom, Ken, and Marty all left before me. I got out at 7:30. Jacinto said he was waiting until 8, but really didn't leave until 9. He said the sun was up and it was fine then. I was quite chilly until the sun got down to me. We had done the bulk of the climbing yesterday. It was an excellent run along the river in the middle chain ring for nine miles. The last half mile I did have to drop into the granny to summit Holman Hill at 9,400 feet. Then it was a wonderful cruising downhill through Cleveland and Mora at mile 23. Highway 518 is one of the prettiest roads I've ever cycled. It took Jim Fitch telling me he wished he had a helicopter so he could come and ride the day with us to make me really look around at the scenery.

We had discussed meeting at the Cowboy Kitchen for breakfast. They were now out of business. I saw Ken and Tom at a little coffee shop right at the turn for 434. I stopped also. That was the last I saw of the two of them. I stopped and took several photos in different areas of the Mora Valley and got even further behind.

So far the day had been very easy and productive. The miles were ticking away. The road continued to be slightly uphill with the occasional more uphill. Am I in that good of condition? I remembered walking a couple of these hills. Woohoo - look at me. I shouldn't have gotten happy so fast. I reached a section with a sign that said 'no center line for five miles. Drive at your own risk'. The road narrowed and got much, much steeper in areas. Still, it seemed like a rather dire warning considering it was paved and I had phone service each time I tried. However, the further I got along the road, the worse the steep parts got. I walked one long piece up from a creek crossing that I remembered walking before. I think I could have ridden it, but there was no reason to torture my knees. I'd like them to last a few more years.

There was a huge, huge motor home. I guess technically he was allowed. There had been a sign saying no vehicles wider than 10 feet and he wasn't wider, but I bet he was having trouble on this narrow road with the curves. Of course, he came up behind me right on one of those curves. I pulled off to give him all the room I could. I walked that hill also, as I was at a dead stop.

All of this climbing was making me hungry. I had a very dry burrito that I kept taking a few bites of throughout the day. It was very not delicious, but given my Spiz bottle was still mostly frozen, I was desperate. I ate all of the bars in my bag. Then I remembered the cherries I had purchased outside of Espanola! Yes - those were the ticket.

The five mile section ended at the top of the second climb. We were back over 8,000 feet. The valley opened way up. The wind was blowing. Not in my favor. Darn. The road went winding downhill, but didn't feel like it at all because of the wind. I had put my flag away anticipating a fun zip to town. Instead I was glad it was put away because of the headwind.

Every so often the wind would swirl around and become a tailwind for a minute. 15 minutes of tailwind and I'd get those six miles to town. Nope. Not happening. At least I didn't have far to go.

I was quite happy to see Elk Horn Lodge right on the main drag. No going up the hill today! The last visit through here we had stayed at the condos, way up the hill towards the ski area. Nancy had offered me her only downstairs room, a handicapped room, since I have a long bicycle. When I went to check in, Ashley said the only downstairs room was the owner's (Nancy) room. Hmm. She must have known where she sleeps when she offered me the room. ??? I did not take the room Ashley offered me as I didn't want to haul my bike upstairs. Ashley did say I could park my bike in the adjoining restaurant. At this point I was quite hungry and was just thinking shower and food. I decided to see if Tom and Ken wanted to eat. They were up on the third floor! I treked upstairs. No answer to either of their phones or their door. I went back downstairs and sat on the bench outside for about a half hour before Jacinto showed up. We went next door to Subway and shared a salad. We looked around the grocery store at all of the nice fruits and veggies. We've been short this trip on real food.

Back at the hotel Ashley said we are definitely on the second floor. Oh well. We decided to put our bikes under the roomy stairwell.

Jacinto had a slow leak on the front to fix. He was less than happy about that. The further he got into the repair, the crankier he got. He's in the shower now. I hope that changes his attitude.

We did agree that today was just shy of yesterday's total climbing at 3,600 feet vs 3,750 feet, but today felt much tougher. I think it was the steep grades vs yesterday's longer, gentler grade.

Now it's 5:30. I wonder what is up for dinner? Jacinto did have an invite for a 4 PM beer with Tom, but he was busy fixing the flat.

Jacinto thought we were all crazy for leaving early when it was so cold.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Aspen here are just as green as the pine trees.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Art in Cleveland.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I caught up with Tom on his coffee break in Mora.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This local character was quite taken with my bike. He had a Rhoades four wheeled bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The alpacas have all been shorn. They look like they are wearing go go boots.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The sign by the door says guest house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I remember walking this honking hill last time we were here. It's crazy steep. I walked it again this time.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Pretty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This shows how hard the day was if Jacinto has his legs up.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 57 miles (92 km)
Total: 268 miles (431 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0