Espanola - Sipapu: The high road to Taos, almost. - Six days until Taos - CycleBlaze

June 13, 2016

Espanola - Sipapu: The high road to Taos, almost.

I enjoyed our semi luxury accommodations last night and sleep very well. Whenever the air conditioning kicked in, I could smell the cigarette smoke. My eyes were very red last night and still red this morning. I'm glad smoke isn't something I usually deal with.

Jacinto got up at the same time I did. That alone should tell you about the seriousness of the climb today. We each had a burrito for breakfast that we had purchased last night. We needed good fuel for the long day ahead. The plan for the day was climb, climb, and climb again. Look at that profile. Do you seen much downhill? I didn't think so!

We had spent major time yesterday discussing which route to take. The common opinion was quickly reached to take the route with the least climbing. We abandoned Highway 76 with 5,004 feet of climbing and decided to take the High Road to Taos with 'only' 3,700 feet of climbing.

Marty then suggested we take Indian Service Road 205 through Picarius Pueblo, which would shave off two more miles and 300 feet of climbing. It would also add the possibility of a trip to the old church. I had already looked at that, but it appeared to be a dirt road part of the way. Discussion was continued on that topic. We did all agree to take the easier (ahem) route.

Everyone but Jacinto was outside and ready to go at 7 AM. We decided there was safety in numbers to go through the narrow canyon on Highway 68. Eleven miles down the four lane highway and it shrank to two lanes as we entered the canyon. Seven miles later we were out and took our turn on to Highway 75 and started up.

The town of Dixon was at mile 20, it had a variety of services and was a cute little town. I took several photos of different buildings. Just outside of Dixon the real climb started. It was time to start accumulating elevation to get to the Sipapu ski area at 8,200 feet.

Ken and Tom were gone. I left Marty behind and I was on my own. It was time for climbing mode. I've been very happy with myself this trip. Even though everyone seemed to think I hadn't done enough training, I've been doing excellent this trip. I have slept well every night, no anxiety. No sore legs, just good riding! Yay for me. I mixed up a fresh bottle of Spiz, shifted to the granny gear and pedaled.

After the first big climb, the road leveled off some and I shifted into the middle ring. This was a nice surprised. We've been to Sipapu before, but came through Taos. It was a very long, hard day for me in the heat with all of the climbing. Today the temperatures were moderate. 70s?

At Indian Service Road 205, I made a left. I was some confused because I was quite sure Marty and I had noted Road 206. Hmmm, should I continue on and look for 206? No, this does seem to be the main entrance to the small town. I pulled it up on google maps on my phone. It looked correct. I went about a mile down the road, checking out the adobe houses and the bison herd (!). The road abruptly ended in dirt. Ah, ha! I knew it turned to dirt. All the sudden I appeared to be transported back in time. Red dirt streets, very old houses of adobe. I didn't know which direction to go. I didn't see anyone to ask. I decided to turn cut my losses and turn around.

Side note - Ken and Marty both went this way and muddled their way out. Both mentioned a huge, honking hill they had to climb to get back to Highway 75. Ken figured things out on his own. Marty had the luck of finding a person to ask. Marty said he rode a matter of yards on dirt before the pavement started. Both of them did the big hill. Ugh.

I went back the way I came. Downhill! At the intersection - I looked right. No, no Marty. I didn't even think of Jacinto. I turned left and started uphill. All the sudden a flash of green zoomed past me, scaring me. It was Jacinto, taking advantage of the descent. He stopped eventually and we chatted a bit about how the morning was going. I hopefully suggested stopping somewhere to eat the rest of our burritos. Nope. He wanted to finish all of the climb before he ate. Off he went.

There were several little towns on this road with at least a convenience store for supplies. Traffic on the whole route was lighter than expected, even Highway 68. Everyone was very polite and moved over as they passed. I've been very impressed the entire trip with the traffic, even the busy roads weren't very busy.

Climbing, climbing. I decided I'd better stop and eat that burrito and give my hot foot a chance to subside. I was ready to be to town and I'd added a couple of miles to my day. They were easy miles, but I had been thinking about a 41 mile day, now it was a 45 mile day. I felt good - but ready to be there, all the same.

We had one more turn, onto Road 518 up to the ski area. I knew I was getting close. Yay. I got a text from Jacinto saying they had arrived. I had one more mile to go. I went straight to our trailer, but no one was there. I called Jacinto and he said they were eating. I went on over to the lodge and the food trailer. That was a disappointment. I had promised myself the same meal I had last trip through here - fish tacos and grilled veggies. But they had changed the food services and now it was a little food truck that served burgers and hot dogs. We wouldn't go hungry, but there sure weren't any grilled veggies!

The guys had all eaten. There was some fussing while they changed a propane tank and finally I made my order. Jacinto asked the lady about getting something for breakfast, now. They didn't open until 11 AM and that sure wouldn't work for us. She was very helpful, said she could make something now, or the next shift could make something. We went ahead and ordered for the four of us. Marty wasn't in yet.

We meandered over to our trailer. Hmm, wait. This is three bedrooms, not four. But the guys are easy, Ken and Marty are sharing one room. It is old, but nice. We especially, especially like the price. We all got showers with hot water.

We had just settled down in the living room and here came Marty. He had a good, but very long day. He notices that the trike is a slow climber and allows perhaps he could have done more training. Marty was still all smiles, but certainly ready to eat NOW.

We walked over with him for company while he ate. Marty asked for the breakfast burrito. All the sudden the friendly lady didn't want to make one and told him to go to the store and see what they had in the cooler. Wait a minute. We had told her we had one more coming and had given her a very nice tip for making the burritos. We certainly would have ordered Marty one in advance if she had said all or none right now. I politely pointed all of that out to her. She said the next guy could make the burrito, she was ready to leave at 5 PM. OK, that is fine. But it isn't what she told Marty. Poor guy. If there's anyone who needs his food, it's the guy who was on the road for ten hours!

Our first photo of all of us together. Jacinto was up, but not ready. It was 57 degrees at 7 AM. We are escaping to higher altitudes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look at all of these tiny rocks, just the right size. It makes me tired, just looking. Seen in Dixon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dixon's grocery co-op has a 3-D car for decoration. Jacinto said they also have designated bicycle parking and a little deli inside with burgers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This elaborate memorial was out in the middle of nowhere.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the flower/bush of the area. What is it? Edit: Timothy Tower noted during his visit to Taos that this is gossamer grass and he fears it is considered a weed. A quick google search doesn't show this exact flower, but similar types. I'm glad I wasn't the only one who found them pretty.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was our biggest climb of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was our biggest climb of the day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Woohoo! I have a little tailwind to help me up the hill.
Heart 0 Comment 0
As soon as I turned on Indian Service Road 205, I saw this sign and directly after, the bison.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Look who caught up with me!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is an horno, used to bake bread.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The tailwind was nice enough I thought this wind mill would have been moving.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The guys were having lunch when I arrived.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Shooting the bull after showers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Our lodging for the night. $71.76 for the whole place. It's a great deal.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tom's reward each day at 4:00 sharp is a beer. He definitely does not recommend this one!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 45 miles (72 km)
Total: 211 miles (340 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0