When you can feel the wind in your hair, it's time to shave your legs - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2021

When you can feel the wind in your hair, it's time to shave your legs

Camping in the Nevada desert

The wind died down over night, but by the time I woke up at 5, it had started up again. My ankle was stiff and a bit sore, but I could walk on it some.  That's a good sign. 

We cooked up breakfast on the stove and worked on the computer all morning. Don had surprising good phone coverage out here, so he was able to set up a hot spot for us to use. We even had some TV - drawing in Phoenix stations which is strange considering that Las Vegas is closer.

As we watched the sun rise, I felt good enough to hobble outside and take some nice sunrise pictures. There were just enough clouds changing colors to make it interesting.

Don had originally planned to go into Henderson to have some service done on the truck. He'd been getting a 'maintenance needed' message lately which he said was likely just for an oil change and tire rotation. So he'd made an appointment at the Toyota dealership there to get the work done. 

But with my ankle the way it was, I just didn't care to be stuck out here all day by myself. So he cancelled the appointment and we'll have the work done at another location.

We've decided to continue on with our trip as planned rather then go home right now. That's always an option, but I figured I would just be sitting around home bored out of my mind until my foot healed. I also wouldn't be able to do the dancing there that we would like to do.

So we'll just keep moving forward and hope for the best. I think I'll be able to bike on the tandem, although dancing may have to wait for a little while. 

We spent the day in the trailer as it rocked from side to side, listening to the wind whistle around us. Gusts were as strong as 40-50 mph at times. So it was one of those, 'hold onto your hat, Nellie' kind of days!

I tried to stay off of my foot all day, keeping it elevated. I also iced it periodically, took ibuprofen and used my ankle wrap for compression. It was feeling better but turning a lovely shade of purple.

Don had to adjust a couple of upcoming reservations around the Lake Havasu City area because the state park we were going to stay at on the Colorado River has lost it's internet. According to their website they're not planning to fix it now and we know that they don't have any phone coverage there. That makes it difficult to do any computer work! So we decided to find another spot to camp. 

He was able to contact the Havasu Elks lodge and make arrangements to stay in their RV Campground. It doesn't look as scenic as the one in St George, but they also have live music along with dancing. I'm crossing my fingers that by the time we're there, that I'll be able to dance. Otherwise, we'll be biking, if I can do that.

By late afternoon black clouds had moved into the area and it started to sprinkle a little rain. Although the prediction was for less than .02 inch, we're not very familiar with storms in the desert so we don't know if some areas could get more. 

As the evening progressed, the wind continued to howl as rain lashed our windows. Great! I sure hope the gravel road back to the highway doesn't get washed away so we're stuck out here in the sticks! 

Sunrise in the forest
Heart 0 Comment 0
I think Joshua Trees are my new favorite desert plant!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We're camped next to this old windmill, water tank and cattle chute.
Heart 0 Comment 0
An impressive Joshua Tree. It must be an old one. I read that they can live up to 150 years old.
Heart 1 Comment 0
This area is surrounded by mountains.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A throne with a view! (it works, by the way)
Heart 1 Comment 0
We haven't seen any cattle out here, so don't know if they still use this chute for loading.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Kelly IniguezWe have a coworker who moved to Joshua Tree and built a glamping Airbnb, complete with a big swimming pool. Rebecca says it is busy enough to hire two ladies to help her out. She loves the area.

I’m sorry to hear about your ankle, but happy you are looking forward.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Kelly IniguezThis is really a stunningly beautiful area and one we might return to. But the only biking where we camped is on a highway. Maybe nearer to the national park there would be more roads to ride. This is a place your friend should boondock. My ankle is improving everyday and at least I can walk. We're going to try riding in Borrego Springs.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago