The Great Pumpkin has landed! - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

September 29, 2021

The Great Pumpkin has landed!

Springville to Provo loop

I found these bike route markers on one road. There must have been an organized ride recently.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was cold overnight with rain and even colder this this morning. So it really didn't hit a decent riding temperature until after lunch. As it wasn't predicted to get out of the 50's, Don opted not to ride. After 2 days with no exercise, I needed to get out and do something or I would go crazy!! 

Don put together a route for me to follow and by noon, it had warmed up to the low 50's with partially clearing skies. I put on my warmer layers, long fingered gloves and balaclava, and headed out to explore the area.

It turned out to be an interesting ride with lots of different things to see. I started out doing an out and back on a road that ran north along the railroad into an industrial park in Provo. This area was full of all kinds of businesses and the road was pretty quiet. I even saw some directional arrows on the pavement indicating that this must have been part of an organized ride. 

I did 10 miles on this section, then went east over the tracks onto another set of roads that passed small fields of hay, pumpkins and a pasture full of sheep. There was a park with a porta potty along here that was a good place for a break. 

Continuing south now, I entered a community of new homes. Many had already put out their Halloween decorations, some quite elaborate. We're carrying our own with us, so look for that to appear soon!

At one intersection there was a large pumpkin patch with lots of fun looking things to entertain the kids. 

Overall, I was happy with my route as all of the roads had light traffic. Drivers were very polite and moved over for me but I did have both my front and rear blinky lights turned on to stay visible.

By now, the sun was starting to peek out and I was wishing I hadn't put on quite so many layers as I was heating up! I took off what I but couldn't quite manage to shed my long underwear without exposing lots of skin!

Eventually I turned west and had a little climb over the top of the interstate. On the other side I took a frontage road that ran north along the highway. 

But I was desperate for a bathroom at this point! There was lots of construction going on with plenty of porta potties, but with workers around, I didn't feel comfortable using one. And there weren't any handy trees or bushes that could give me some cover from the traffic let alone and place to lean the bike out of the goathead thorns.

Finally I found a building going up that had a new dumpster with a brick enclosure that was set off onto some dirt. Ahhhh, that should work and I couldn't see any work going on nearby. I was able to roll the bike out of sight and take care of business. 

Relieved, I headed back to camp. The last couple of miles were a grind. Even though it was flat, I was tired and there was lots of noise from the interstate. 

Finally I did one last little climb that took me east over the highway and back to the KOA. I was happy to have persevered and done a ride! Of course, it was now sunny - figures!

Later after dinner, I got a little more exercise in when we did some dancing on our floor. We even got some thumbs up from other campers who were out walking their dogs. Always like to entertain the neighbors, good thing we're not shy!

This is a creative camper near us! The brand of the trailer is Forester.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Finally a clear view of the mountains near us this morning.
Heart 2 Comment 0
But it sure looks cold up there with that snow!!
Heart 0 Comment 0
At one intersection I found this pumpkin patch/playground for the kids. I couldn't believe someone actually had studded the sides of this silo with pumpkins!
Heart 0 Comment 0
I even found Stonehenge.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The spooks were out at this house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was quite the elaborate tree house.
Heart 0 Comment 0
What you lookin' at, buddy?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Of course, I finish the ride and the skies clear!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 20 miles (32 km)
Total: 715 miles (1,151 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0