Looking for gold in them thar hills - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

November 30, 2021

Looking for gold in them thar hills

Tucson to Apache Junction, AZ

When I woke up this morning, I could barely move. It felt like a semi truck had run over me, backed up and run over me again! I was dizzy and nauseous. Clearly something was wrong with my system. It felt like I had an inner ear infection. 

I stumbled my way out to the table but couldn't even manage to get breakfast going. Don had to help with that job. I just sat with my head hanging down trying to get enough umph to eat. Obviously my body was not happy with the long ride yesterday. Although my legs just felt slightly fatigued and strong enough to ride again today. 

I was very hungry but couldn't manage to eat much with the way my stomach felt. Today was a travel day and I had no idea how I was going to be able to help Don pack. He said to just relax for awhile and he would do everything if need be.

He had been up before dawn today and was ready to do an early run to the laundromat in Catalina. Not a job to add into everything else we needed to do, but it was necessary as we're running out of clothes! 

The laundry took about 2 hours and fortunately, I was feeling better by the time he returned. At least enough that I could help with securing everything inside the trailer. 

I think the reason for my "illness" was that my electrolytes were out of balance. Since I had let Don drink most of the Powerade during the ride, I had not replenished my electrolytes. You'd think I would have learned that over the many years we've been biking! 

By noon, we were ready to roll and headed north out of Tucson, aiming for Lost Dutchman State Park in Apache Junction. 

It was a short drive on back roads and it was interesting when we passed through the town of Florence where there were several prisons. There's also a town in Colorado named Florence that houses prisons. 

We pulled into the park a little before 2 and located our site after a stop at the dump station. Don had made reservations a year ago and couldn't remember which spot he had picked but we were both happy to see that it was a nice one on the edge of the campground. We overlook the city below us. 

We love this park that's at the base of the towering Superstition Mountain! Very scenic with plenty of saguaro and views galore. There is a fabled gold mine called the Lost Dutchman somewhere on this mountain, but I'm not going to go looking for it.

The rest of the afternoon was spent setting up camp. Don commented that he was still tired from yesterday's ride and opted for a simple microwave meal. It is very warm here and we were able to leave our back hatch open as we ate to enjoy the beautiful sunset. There's a screen that pulls down so it's like having a private screen tent at our dining table.

We'll be here for the rest of the week and hope to attend several dances, as well as hook up with dancing friends from Denver. Should be fun!!

There are always interesting campers, trailers and RV's in the campgrounds we've stayed at. Check out this tent on a car version and the ladder getting up to it! I don't mind tent camping on the ground but having to climb up and down a ladder in the middle of the night to go to the bathroom would be a little problematic for this old gal!
Heart 0 Comment 5
Bill ShaneyfeltThe peak just left of the popup is called flatiron. I camped at the park in Aug 2007 and climbed up there. Great views! Tough climb, especially the scrambling at the top.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Bill ShaneyfeltThat mountain looks pretty rugged and would be tough to hike! But I hear you on the views. That's why we love camping here.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltIt is a good hike up to Siphon Draw, then it becomes a scramble with some kind of technical spots.

One of my all-time favorite shots:

https://www.facebook.com/photo/?fbid=1431649747365&set=a.1431522904194
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
marilyn swettTo Bill ShaneyfeltGreat pic! I think you'd need rock climbing gear to climb some of those cliffs.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Bill ShaneyfeltWell, I didn't climb any cliffs, but I did some pretty steep stuff following the water flow path. Close to bouldering, but no ropes needed.

There were lots more AZ pictures in that fb "album" that show lots of nature.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Now this is more my style, although it's a bit small for 2 of us. I liked the paint job. There is a group of single ladies camping here at Lost Dutchman. Many have vintage trailers.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sunset on the Superstition Mountain.
Heart 1 Comment 0
The sunsets here at Lost Dutchman just get better and better every year!
Heart 1 Comment 0
My favorite.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0