Desert solitaire - The Adventures of Garfield and Tango - CycleBlaze

October 31, 2021

Desert solitaire

Borrego Springs loop, take 5

Don announced this morning that he wanted to take a day off of riding but would be more than happy to get my bike set up if I wanted to do my own ride. He even offered to do our laundry. 

Well, you didn't have to ask me twice! I would much rather do a bike ride vs work on laundry!

It still took me awhile to get ready and I didn't make it out until 9:30. While today was supposed to be a little cooler - in the 80's as opposed to the 90's the past few days, it already felt hot in the bright sunshine.

I didn't have a set route but knew I couldn't really get lost. There just aren't that many roads in the valley to ride.

Pointing my bike north, I first rode on the road by the park and took it through the citrus orchards until it ended at Coyote Canyon. Appropriately, I spotted a coyote near here cross the road in front of me. 

Other than hearing them yip and howl at night and again before dawn today, this was the only wildlife sighting I've had here. We have seen several road runners and quail on a few rides.

Turning around, I retraced my steps back to Henderson Canyon Rd and followed it around to Borrego Springs Rd which I took until I could enter the de Anza Country Club at a different spot than on yesterday's ride. 

I admired more of the beautiful homes and SW designs. I imagine that most of these are in the $2 million price range or maybe more. I even took a spin up to the clubhouse which was closed. 

In reading later, I learned that this clubhouse was designed by architects Richard Zerbe and Hal Martinez. Mr. Zerbe helped transform Borrego Springs into a modern oasis in the 1950's-1960's. He specialized in a mid-century design that took into account the desert location with clean lines and the expansive use of glass. 

Zerbe initially studied aeronautical engineering and worked in the aviation industry before moving to architecture. In one section of cottages at the golf club, he used tapered "ribbing" that echoed the design of early airplane winds. 

How interesting - a connection to Airstream! Just like Wally Byam, who started Airstream, Zerbe was another person that used his aviation background in his designs.

Zerbe was never formally trained in architecture, but was able to take and pass the state exam to obtain his license. He primarily worked in Julian and the Borrego valley. Many of the homes I rode by today were designed by him. 

As with our other ride out here, absolutely NO ONE was on the golf course! It should have been a great day to golf, but just like the course in our RV park, it was also closed. Very strange.

After exploring the country club, I continued south through some residential neighborhoods toward town. When I reached the main road, I decided to go to the state park's visitor center even though I knew it would be a little climb. 

It was time to take a break and eat something for lunch, and I remembered that they had a nice shady spot along one side of the building where there were benches. That sounded good to me and it felt great to cool off on this now hot day. 

I had been squirting water on my legs to cool them off throughout the ride, and made use of their drinking fountain to soak my head do rag and neck cooler. It's amazing how just doing those little things makes my body feel cooler as well as preventing heat headaches. 

While I was eating my protein bar and banana, I talked to the ranger about ocotillos. I commented to her that a lot of them seemed to be producing green leaves now which seems a bit early considering that they are going into the winter. She said that they will often turn green 7-9 times a year and the green now was due some recent rain they had here. 

Done with my break, I was ready to head back home but my goal was at least 20 miles today. I headed out of the park on the main road, but decided not to deal with any traffic in the downtown area so turned north again toward the country club.

We've really enjoyed riding on the roads here as we have found little to no traffic on all of them. Even today was fairly quiet, although lots of folks were driving around the metal sculptures. Probably looking for that perfect selfie!

Just before I got to the country club, I turned east on Big Horn Rd. which I knew was a through road to Di Giorgio Rd and my return to the RV park. 

By 1, I had made it back to the trailer along with a little wind. Don already had the AC cranked up inside which sure felt good! 

I was really happy with my performance today. Despite my bum foot, I was able to crank out 22 miles. It didn't feel too bad, but I did get the ice pack out and elevated it as soon as I could. We haven't tried any dancing yet on our floor but at least I can bike. 

The evening was another quiet one as we've lost the campers on either side of us. We have no idea why this place isn't full but we're liking it!

Just north of the RV park we've ridden past this abandoned vineyard. I guess they ran out of water? The cross shaped trellises are so interesting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
There weren't any workers in the orchards on this Sunday, but it looked like they were all set up for packing lemons tomorrow. Most of the ones we've seen on the trees are still green so I wondered if they pick them that way and let them ripen in storage??
Heart 0 Comment 0
The beautiful green course at the de Anza Country Club was nice, but no golfers were to be found. Weird!
Heart 0 Comment 0
This is the mid-century desert modern clubhouse at the de Anza Country Club.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I liked this sculpture at one fancy home!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 357 miles (575 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0