Day 7: Middlegate to Austin - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 5, 2010

Day 7: Middlegate to Austin

Hi Everyone! Only have time for a quick update. I had no WIFI last night and limited tonight (stealing from the Best Western Hotel Lobby).

...but we are having a great time! There is some hard riding but really fun too. This country is amazing to ride through. The mountains are still snow capped and the valleys are wide open and, in some cases, still green. It is 100% cowboy country and in some places spectacular.

...I also slept in my first city park last night, for free (well, to be exact we slept in the horseshoe pit to avoid getting drenched with the automatic sprinklers in the wee hours of the night). I don't know if sleeping in a city park makes me a bum or a veteran bike tourer, but I guess THAT is for small minds to ponder?

I have some great pictures and I will post them soon as I can. I expect to have good wifi facilities tomorrow and will try and update days 7-9.

Thanks for all the comments on the guestbook! I promise responses soon. :-)

And Todd, I am definitely carrying more weight than Fred but he IS carrying our extra water between towns, which I appreciate greatly :-)

Updates soon!

Karen

Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 607 miles (977 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0