Day 57 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 31, 2010

Day 57

Well, I've hit a new low (or high?) in dog/cyclist relations...I was chased by a Chihuahua! It was a dangerous situation, more dangerous than my other dog encounters--I almost fell off my bike laughing. Still, he put in a good effort. I think he got loose from his chain? That was the big excitement for the day.

Last night I stayed at the hostel in Charlottesville. It was a nice place for the money (much less than a hotel). I got a good night's sleep and was ready to roll in the morning.

I set out for Richmond, where I would stay with Pam On, who is one of the administrators for the "Ride For Jim," the fundraiser for the cancer research scholarship I have been raising money for on the trip. I went off route again. I called a bike shop in Richmond for the safest roads to ride into the city on. The road had a few more (and bigger) rollers/hills than I would have liked but I made it just the same and in the end it was a good route. I can tell you this though, I'm through with climbing for a while! Sure glad tomorrow is flat. :-)

After I got here we went shopping for vegetables at a place called farm2family market that specializes in farm fresh produce. Not only do they have a store but they have a bus that drives around the poorer neighborhoods (who don't have access to good food) and sell there. Pretty cool. And let me tell you, I have been vegetable deprived lately on this trip but it was partially made up for tonight. Between great tasting veggies and Pam cooking them...delicious! And then the ice cream with peaches and nuts and coconut! Man, if it wasn't the best meal of the trip it was darn close.

But back to the ride... Tomorrow should be the last day! I'm a little sad but excited too. I hope I make it! ;-)

Hopefully tomorrow's post will be from Yorktown! :-)

Today's ride: 78 miles (126 km)
Total: 4,461 miles (7,179 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0