Day 56: Cookie Lady - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 30, 2010

Day 56: Cookie Lady

Today I met the Cookie Lady, AKA June Curry. I expect that most touring cyclist have heard of her but for those of you who have not... The Cookie Lady lives in Afton Virginia and has been hosting cyclist in her spare house for (as far as I know) 1976. She is now 84 years old and has had some health problems of late but she looked pretty good today, at least to me. She told me stories about some past cyclists. I didn't stay the night but I took a tour of her cyclist guest house and saw rooms full of touring cyclist memorabilia. And when I say rooms full I mean rooms FULL! The place is packed with pictures, post cards (from cyclists) jerseys....you name it. It is an impressive sight and shows how much the Cookie Lady is loved.

We chatted for about an hour and then she sent me off with some goodies. The Cookie Lady was on my trip bucket list and I'm glad I got to meet her.

Other than that, I had a thoroughly enjoyable day on the bike and made it as far as Charolettesville. All of the major climbs are over so aside from some rollers it's relatively flat riding. This area reminds me a lot of Northern California, it even has vineyards and orchards. I stopped at 2 places for local peaches and had a delicious peach shake at one. With all this good food I'm getting my appetite back. I hope I don't start gaining weight! ;-)

Today I found myself starting to reflect on the trip as I wound my way around the countryside. ...the best moments, etc. I guess that means I'm almost done with the trip? I have to say I'm looking forward to being home, though I have really enjoyed the ride. Though when I think back to Carson Pass, Nevada, Utah, etc it feels like a year ago!

I am also getting excited about finishing. Not the FINISHing, but the fact that I actually rode my bike all this way. It's hard to believe now that I'm so close.

In fact, the little arrow icon on my Garmin DOES touch the ocean if I zoom out enough. Does that count? I mean, my ICON is touching the Atlantic!

Two or three days of riding should do it. Tomorrow I'll be off and pedaling east again.

I took a bunch of pictures but I don't have time tonight so futz with them so I'll get them on asap.

Geech! I'm almost there! It feels weird...

Today's ride: 73 miles (117 km)
Total: 4,383 miles (7,054 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0