Day 41 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 15, 2010

Day 41

Whao... Even the locals say it's hot, and humid..."more then usual" said the women in the store. :-P

All I can tell you about that is I feel like I'm one big waterfall all day, just dripping...and nothing really dries out. But, I'm drinking a lot and pedaling so I guess it's ok. Tomorrow we are going for a REALLY early start because we have a big day ahead of us.

Today's hills were not nearly as bad as I expected. In fact they reminded me a lot of the hills in Northern California. They were rolling and I was able to get over quite a few of them by gaining momentum from the downhills (kind of like a roller coaster), though I still had to slog up some of them.

Tomorrow will be a different story when we get in to the hills of the Ozarks in force. Almost everyone who rides through them says they are terrible but I'm going to reserve judgment. Either way it will be a hard day, especially with the heat. I'll let you know...

I don't have a lot of time today for a long winded update, partly because I got caught up on the last few days (see pics, etc) so that should keep you busy for a while :-)

Thanks again to everyone who posted comments. I'll reply asap.

Not sure where we are staying tomorrow but I'll send an update if I can. Tonight we got a motel, we really needed air conditioning. The courthouse lawn were we camped last night was nice but sleeping in a pool of sweat does not make for comfort. Still, I slept ok considering...

Anyway, more soon. Until then...

Karen (and the Trucker)

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 3,254 miles (5,237 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0