Day 36: Kansas again - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2010

Day 36: Kansas again

Today is a shortish update because its almost bedtime!

We got in late last night and slept in the city park. It had restrooms but no showers so we all felt a little, well, disgusting today. Still, we soldiered on...

This morning we got a late start because Howard had a problem with his crank and needed to visit the bike shop. We were planning to make it to Cassidy but only got to....well, some town I can't remember to the name of, but it is HUGE in comparison to the towns we have been through--17,000 people!

But Kansas is changing... We had been riding through wheat fields but the second half of yesterday and today was mostly green and corn. Oh, and did I tell you the humidity is going up. Not so good for someone like me, used to low humidity, but that's all part of the experience

So, I don't think I mentioned it... The group I am riding with is riding to raise money for a cancer research scholarship. I saw the ad for riders last winter and decided, as long as I'm riding anyway, I might as well do something to contribute to the world. The link to the scholarship is www.rideforjim.org if you're interested in knowing more or making a contribution...you can donate under my name too (I'm keeping track).

...in fact today, by coincidence, a woman approached us from a local paper to ask us questions about our trip and she will be writing a story about us in the local paper. I will send the link next week when the story hits the newsstands (or, internet as the case may be).

But, anyway, we had fun today on our short ride. We especially had fun snapping pictures at a huge sunflower field.

Its interesting to see the change in the scenery and terrain. It is getting more rolly-polly after many days of flat. I hear it will only get worse in Missouri, but I'll worry about that when the time comes.

So, tomorrow will be a long day after tomorrow's short day so I better hit the sack. If I can't post it will be because there is no wifi, I expect that we will be camping again.

Until then...

Heart 1 Comment 0
Kansas is purty!
Heart 0 Comment 0
These are two of my new friends...
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's Alex coming up a hill. This section of road wasn't good but it didn't last long.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jordon and Howard down the road...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Jordon, Howard, Doug, me and Alex
Heart 1 Comment 0
I saved this little guy from certain death when he wondered on the road
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is a rebel flower in there! That one is the only one facing the camera.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 53 miles (85 km)
Total: 2,573 miles (4,141 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0