Day 34: New faces new places - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 6, 2010

Day 34: New faces new places

Well, I met the new group today (Doug, Alex, Howard and Jordon). I'll let you know more about them, and why I'm with them another time. Right now I only have time for a quick update because we have 12 more miles to ride. But since there is no internet at our destination we stopped at the Ness City library.

Today started with awful weather--rain, moster headwinds and dark skies. But we soldiered on in spite of it. It was nice to have other riders to draft off of and I was able to ride in a paceline for most of the day. Alex is the best paceliner but some of the others joined in as well. But with (we estimate) 25 mph plus headwinds it sure helps, even to just switch off with one other person in front. I can definitly tell I used less energy.

We stopped at a historical site where George Washington Carver lived, which was appropriate because I really like peanut butter and had some this morning on my cereal! ;-)

And speaking of history... Yesterday I had time to kill and visited the El Quartelejo Museum in Scott City http://www.scottcity.info/14.html. For a small town museum it was exceptional; the exibits were very profesional and the guide (Dennis Sieqrist) was outstanding. I recommend it to anyone cycling (or even driving) through the area. It is right on the route as you get into town and is a great place to spend an hour an get out of the heat. They have water and even offered me a free ice tea, AND they gave me a stamp for the post card I bought! Now THAT is hospitality.

In addition to interesting information about the area (from prehistoric times to the present) the museum is adjacent to the The Jerry Thomas Art Gallery. Jerry Thomas is a well known artist who specializes in western art. I like his style.

I did take some pictures but I don't think they will be spectacular because of the weather and lighting. I will take a look tonight and post them tomorrow if anything strikes my fancy (I am using the library's computer so pics are out).

We are hoping for better winds tomorrow and an early start. I think there is less chance for rain too.

Until then...

Oh, I almost forgot! David Davis posted this on the guestbook, in referance to "White Woman Creek" from the other day. Thanks David!

According to the Kansas State Historical Society, the origin of the name of White Woman Creek is:

"The legend of White Woman Creek tells the story of two white women who were captured by Indians in 1868 near Spillman Creek in Lincoln County. One of the two were later rescued and the rescuers told a story of a crazy white woman who wished to stay with the Indians and her involvement and influence with the Indians. She later took part in a battle against some soldiers from Fort Wallace. She encouraged the Indians but was killed herself, issuing a plea to the gods to protect her husband and the tribe. To this day it is said you can still hear her along the creek that bears her name--White Woman Creek. The legend is a lengthy story and can be read in Margaret Pile's book 'And Greeley County Began.""

Today's ride: 69 miles (111 km)
Total: 2,407 miles (3,874 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0