Day 3: On to Carson pass--almost - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 1, 2010

Day 3: On to Carson pass--almost

Mental note: The next time some fool puts some notion in your head about riding 7000 plus feet of elevation in one day, with 75 plus pounds of bike and crap strapped too said bike, tell them they are an idiot!

...oh, wait, I'm the fool who put that in my head, which I guess makes me the idiot. :-P

Everything is fine. I'm short of the pass but found a hotel, not an easy task as the hotels and campgrounds within miles are still closed because of all the snow. Did not look at the mileage but my garmin said 6900plus feet of elevation gain.

The next two days should be easy so I promise, PROMISE full updates tomorrow, with pictures of course. Because despite the exhaustion, the days(s) had their moments! Just too darn tired right now.

Until then...

Karen (and the Trucker)

Next morning:

Yesterday was one of those topsy turvy rides that you can't quantify. It had moments with great scenery and...

I got an early start from the Indian Grinding Rock State Park (which I'll talk about when I get more time, on a rest day or something) where I spent the night and, after packing and a pre-breakfast of scone and fruit, decided to make it to the "OK Coral" for breakfast. I figured it was about an hours ride from the description on their website, there description of tasty breakfasts, lunches and dinners had me reasoning that it would be the perfect place. So I peddled thought Pine Grove, and Pioneer, bypassing all of their little cafes and diners to get to my perfect little spot. Finally I arrived at the Coral--closed. DAOOO! I saw another little breakfast place a ½ mile back. By then I was really hungry so I decided I better back track...closed! It was then I learned the ways and wherefores of mountain entrepreneurial-ship. It went something like this

Me: Do you know if Cook's Station (next food/restaurant stop) is open.
Stranger 1: I think so? No, wait, I haven't been there in a while so I don't know?

Me: Do you know if Cook's station is open?
Stranger 2: No, not open.

Me: What about Ham's Station (up the road from Cooks Station)
Stranger 2: Yeah, that SHOULD be open.

Me: Do you know Cook's station and Ham Station is open.
Stranger 3: Cooks station is open but you can never tell with Tom at Ham's. He'll up and leave sometimes and you never know when Usually places are closed Monday but since yesterday was a holiday they might just switch and be closed today... (I didn't mention that is no way to run a business, what was the point?)

...Stranger 4: Cook's Station? It's closed
...Stranger 5: Cook's Station? It just opened a couple of weeks ago.

...you get the idea. That was the way it was for all of the business on the way up, including possible sleeping places like campgrounds and resorts. And let me tell you, there were VERY few places open because of all the snow this season.

I rolled into Kirkwood Ski Resort around 6:00pm, tired and hungry and just caught the lodge manager as she was, yes, leaving for the night! There was no problem finding space, there seem to be hundreds of rental/hotel units in the resort and I think I'm one of, perhaps, 3 people in the entire place. They even turn off most of the outdoor lights since nobody is around. The woman was nice though. She drove me to a nearby restaurant (where I got something to go) and then showed me which building has WIFI and how to sneak in so I could use it. With so few people around I don't have to tell you it was a quiet night! :-)

As for the ride, it was a mix of beautiful scenery and climbing. The grades on route 88 are not bad, it's just that after climbing most of the day those last 2 hours are killer. I made it though! Today I will climb over Carson Pass. In a way I'm glad I did NOT make it last night. The weather looks great and I will have the energy to spend a little time up there admiring the view.

Oh, and Cook's Station? Open! ...I was too late for breakfast but devoured a monster cheeseburger, fries and a coke!

Today I begin the first of my 'send stuff home' operations where I will begin by sending home my wool undershirt, my favorite wool socks (Tim, love those specialized socks), and a few other odds and ends I brought just in case I had to spend the night camping in the 30 degree mountain air. I plan on a few more switheroos (such as swapping my down bag with my summer bag) but I'll wait to be sure the time is right.

Tomorrow I meet my friend Fred near Carson City and it should be a relatively easy ride to get there over 2 days, with most of it being down hill or flat. It will be nice to relax a little after yesterday. Finding laundry facilities will be a priority, as anyone that gets near me will tell you.

So, until next time...

Karen

Heart 0 Comment 0
Today's ride? Well at TIMES it was unbearable!
...get it, un-BEAR-able... (there is a BEAR in the picture, you see...)
It's nice to know yesterday's agony has not spoiled my sense of humor!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Will this EVER end!?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lighting was bad for pictures today but still... If you look close you can see people fishing on the right
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Huh?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 218 miles (351 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0