Day 29: Part 2 - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2010

Day 29: Part 2

Let's see where was? Oh yes, errands...

Yes, I ran my errands...but by the time I finished it was almost 2:00--too early to stop riding, but then I analyzed the situation... I was heading for a town 32 miles away....there was now a headwind....it was already in the mid-90's....and after fighting headwinds all day yesterday in cooler weather, well.....tomorrow tail/cross winds are predicted instead of headwinds like today....and my friends are still 2 days behind me....hmmm? Seemed weird to stop so soon but ridiculous--no stupid--to keep going. If I had not stopped for a latte and goofed around with the journal early things might have been different but I REALLY needed a latte so...

So, I got myself a very nice hotel room at motel 6 prices, though it has several amenities I just won't be needing...

1. The clothes iron. Not! My clothes packing method on a bike tour means stuffing all my clothes in a compression sack, tightening it down until all of the available air has been sucked out of the sack and then cramming the sack, that is now the density of a bowling ball, in my panniers.
2. The make-up remover towelette? I did BRING make-up but have yet un-screw the cap(s). There is 3 ounces I will likely carry across country for NO reason. I could have carried an extra snickers bar instead, though admittedly, a snickers bar would not make it cross-country, or even 10 miles down the road.
3. The hair dryer. Nope.

The desk clerk DID tell me which laundry room washer is broken and does not need coins though. THAT will save me a buck! And the microwave and fridge will be well used by the time I leave tomorrow.

So, all in all I think I made the right choice to stop.

Well, I'm going for a walk. I'm close enough to the city center to see all that Pueblo has to offer. WOOO-HOOO!

Oh, and believe it or not I did not take ONE picture today! Sorry...

"See" you tomorrow.

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 2,038 miles (3,280 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0