Day 27: Loveland Pass - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2010

Day 27: Loveland Pass

What a great day! I was kinda, ok really, worried about Loveland Pass but it turned out to be doable and a cool climb. But before I get to that... Thanks Dave and RJ (Dave's roommate) for letting me stay at your house and cooking for me. I was fun. :-)

I got an early start from Dave's house since I had some climbing to do from Silverthorne before I even got up to the base of the Loveland climb. It was a great day for climbing, sunny but not too hot

The climb was harder than Vail Pass because it was a little steeper and higher altitude. I definitely noticed a kick in the ol'lungs at around 11,000 but I put the Trucker in a low gear and kept the pedals turning. The scenery was fantastic, even better than Vail Pass, and stopping to take a ton of pictures allowed me to catch my breath.

The Top was way above the tree line with fantastic views all around. Even the weather there was great. I put on my vest, arm and leg warmers because I was up there for a while having a snack and enjoying the view but as soon as I started down I peeled them off.

The downhill was really cool (as in nice) with long switchbacks and views to the north. I tried to keep the speed down so I could enjoy the scenery and stop for pictures but it wasn't easy.

After I got off the pass I plunged down quickly to Georgetown and, eventually, Denver. It was about this time that I started noticing issues with my front tire, the same Specialized Armadillo that "de-treaded" (rear tire) on the way to Grand Junction. I had been keeping an eye on it and it had been ok, but now, on one of the most fun downhills of the trip, it decided to fall apart.

I kept my speeds low and kept an eye on it. There were a couple nasty little climbs before Denver and I made it over fine. It was about this time that I started to get rained on so I found a little bank with an overhang at the front door. I was battening down all my electronic gear (making sure it was "plastic-ed" up) when a young woman came out of the bank...

"It's costumer appreciation day and we have free sodas. Do you want one?" She asked me.
By then I was pretty bonked so the timing was perfect. "I'll take a coke."
She asked about my bike...and the next thing I knew another teller was out asking questions. "You can stay and come inside if you want." She said before they both went inside.
A few minutes later a customer came out and offered me a tootsie roll. I'm not exactly sure why? I'm thinking that maybe I looked homeless and pathetic? Maybe that's why they offered me a soda too? Either way, I took the tootsie roll and put it in my bag for another day. You never know when you're going to need a tootsie roll on a bike trip?

The drizzle was off and on then so I put on my rain jacket and set off again. But the tire situation became more tenuous; it started to peel more and, eventually, began to soften. I had a long downhill but kept the speed low and under control, until finally, at Golden, I decided to exercise a little common sense and I called my brother for a ride. The day was pretty much over by then anyway. Still, even with the tire mess it was a great day, though I can promise you that Specialized will be receiving an e-mail from me.

The next few days will be off days with my brother Tom and my cousins Laura and Beth. I am meeting a group near Pueblo to ride east and I am way ahead of schedule. Although I am not half way mileage wise it feels like a halfway point. Still, even though I won't be riding in the coming days I have some extra journal entries I have been thinking about. So, stay tuned! :-)

Whooooa. Good thing I'm wearing my helmet!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Gulp. The climb has only just begun...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Getting close to Arapahoe Basin ski area--A.K.A. "The Basin"
Heart 1 Comment 0
Made it...well, made it to a place I could go to the bathroom without having to find a tree.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Man, what a VIEW!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Getting close to the tree line. Notice the switch backs.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A little further up looking down on a rider heading around a switchback
Heart 1 Comment 0
Looking back from where I came from. Nearing the top.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Made it!
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the North Side. That's me way down the hill with the road going down and highway 70 below in the distance.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Switchbacks on the way down
Heart 1 Comment 0
Highway 70 way down in the distance
Heart 1 Comment 0
Off of Loveland Pass. Georgetown, closer to Denver.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool little train near Georgetown
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool mailbox! ;-)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Loveland Pass down to Denver
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 74 miles (119 km)
Total: 1,896 miles (3,051 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0