Day 26: Rest and relaxation - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2010

Day 26: Rest and relaxation

Today was a rest day but I didn't sit on my laurels. I remember my LAST rest day and how bad I felt the next day after doing nothing. So I vowed that would not happen again. I got up early and did a 3-hour training ride with an hour of hill repeats...

...well, ok, I didn't get up early. But I DID do a 3-hour, ok, 2-hour OKAY, if you MUST know, I did a little spin for an hour almost an hour...

...Look, I DID go for a little spin for a little less than an hour, WITH a climb, after sleeping in. Are you happy now!?

Anyway, I also took a nap and ran some errands, AND Dave took me rafting! WOOO-HOOOO! That was fun. I have never been rafting before. I'll post pictures. I could not take pics of the whitewater area because I got pretty darn soaked to the skin and I didn't want the camera soaked to the skin but I got some of the quieter stretches of water. Dave said the water was 'Class-3' so not huge by any means but still fun.

Other than that...

Tomorrow will be one of the bigger days of the trip-Loveland Pass. I've been eyeing it from the start so I hope I make it. The altitude is what has my attention-the top is almost 12,000 feet. In truth, I'm excited about the challenge but it is the highest I have ever ridden so it's a bit of an unknown. The relative 'ease' of Vail Pass has given me some confidence though. If I manage to avoid pulmonary edema I will then plunge down to Denver, where I will meet my brother Tom.

Today I sent my down bag and alarm-lock home. I have a summer bag waiting for me (sent from home) in Denver. I'm glad I had the down bag on several chilly occasions but I won't need it on the plains and beyond. And I have only used the alarm lock a couple of times, and never in the small towns where I have not, in general, locked my bike at all. I don't think I will need it past Denver. So, not having to schlep those two things to the top of Loveland Pass will help, a little. I mean, lets face it, now I can carry more Fritos!

By the way, I forgot to mention that 2 days ago, when I rode my bike from Glenwood Springs on the bike path next the Colorado River, was the FIRST day the bike path was open this season. I really lucked out and had no idea! I think I would have had to hitch a ride or something through that stretch, which would have been a big disappointment.

Wish me luck tomorrow! Until then...

Rest day riding. See, I DID do a little climb (this was only part way up actually)
Heart 0 Comment 0
More rest day ride
Heart 0 Comment 0
My first rafting "trip!"
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dave's friend Chris also came along
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dave and I after the whitewater. I was pretty soaked by then.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0