Day 25: Vail Pass -- a photo journal - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 23, 2010

Day 25: Vail Pass -- a photo journal

I can't believe I'm saying this but what a fun day! Man, I thought Vail Pass would be MUCH harder... But I'll get to that in a second.

I can't say I got up and out early. It was a great camp site with a fast running stream below my tent area. Oh, that's no excuse for a late start, I'm just saying...

There were no restaurants nearby so I had to ride DOWN to the store in East Vail because I didn't have enough for breakfast. The coffee, orange and chocolate bar WERE tasty but hardly enough substance for the day's climbing.

While I was eating my cherry danish, second cup of coffee and cheese on the little bench outside the store a man pulled up in a car with Missouri license plates and a bike stuffed in the back...

"Are you from around here?" He asked.
"No."
"Where is a flat place I can ride around here?"
"How about Denver," I said. Thinking back to yesterday's endless climb from the west.
"I came from Denver, there are too many cars there. I was thinking about riding in that direction," He said, pointing west and down the hill.
"You know, you'll have to climb up on the way back," I said, trying not to sound like I was stating the obvious.
"Yeah, I guess you're right. I guess I'll keep looking," he said as he got back in his car.
I decided not to mention that he could try Grand Junction. I let it go and he drove away.

After my nutritious breakfast I was ready for the big climb of the day. So I turned the Trucker east and started pedaling. After regaining what I had lost riding to the store I started the official climb. It was mostly a steady climb. It kicked up in a few places, once to 16% (I was told) but I kept on pedaling. Other than those little stretches the grade was pretty steady and "easy" by big grade standard. Other than that, it can best be described in pictures...

Looking back on East Vail
Heart 1 Comment 0
Starting the climb...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool bike path
Heart 1 Comment 0
I didn't know he rode this pass!?
Heart 0 Comment 0
I didn't know HE rode this pass either?!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still going up...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
I THOUGHT I still had some to climb after this. Turns out I was right about at the top.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
WOOO-HOOOOO! The summit! Except this sign was on the highway, not the bike path.
Heart 0 Comment 0
WOOO-HOOOO! I made it, except there was no SIGN indicating I made it. I did the whole, "I made it pose" anyway.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Taking a rest at the top
Heart 0 Comment 0
Going down...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
STILL going down!
Heart 0 Comment 0
That's me on the left there. Going down...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Copper Mountain. Still going down...
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still on the bike path near Frisco
Heart 0 Comment 0
STILL, I say STILL going down!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Frisco
Heart 0 Comment 0
Dillon Lake
Heart 0 Comment 0
Silverthorn bike path switchbacks.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Vail Pass
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 1,822 miles (2,932 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0