Day 24: Mountain Madness - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2010

Day 24: Mountain Madness

WOOO-HOOO! Another great day!

It started at Glenwood Springs where (as you know from my previous post) I had a great campsite by the river. From there I started pedaling east through the canyon and the GREAT bike trail that runs parallel to the highway and railroad tracks. Man, it was pretty with the river running right along side! After that it was on to frontage roads which were also nice.

After a bit of lallygagging and taking too many pictures I changed my focus and was on a mission. I didn't want to pay "Vail prices" for a hotel so I headed for the only campground in the area, which happens to be the furthest point in Vail, just before the pass. So after a lot of climbing and 73 miles I made it, in plenty of time daylight wise but a little tight for things like showers and journal updates.

After finding a site (there were only 2 left), setting up my tent and grabbing a quick snack I headed back DOWN a big hill to the local racket club and a $5 shower and wifi. But, they close in 10 minutes so I won't have time for pictures OR updates on the two previous days...

BUT! Tomorrow my one challenge is Vail Pass and after today I'm feeling good about it. After that I will glide down the other side of the mountain to my brother Dave's place. I plan to take Thursday off and PROMISE to finish all updates and picture responsibilities. I will also have time over the weekend since I will be visiting brother #2 Tom and cousins Laura and Beth and family...

As for tomorrow...those of you on my "SPOT" list, you will know when I make it to the top of Vail Pass, watch for the spot! :-)

Until then...

Today's ride: 72 miles (116 km)
Total: 1,715 miles (2,760 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0