Day 20: Moab - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 18, 2010

Day 20: Moab

Another good day on the bike...! First, the wind picked up so there were less no-see-ums. WOO-HOOO! It did get hard at the end though with a strong headwinds, on top of the heat.

The temps were predicted to be hot though, so I got up and out early. And it's a good thing too because I was baking by the time I got here. When I did I got a bite to eat and then headed to a little private campground that came highly recommended. I rolled in and was looking at the price ($25) and saw there was only one left. "Do you want to share a spot and save a little money," the woman asked. "Sure" I said...

...Turns out the woman works in Special Education in the same school district my friend Donna substitute teaches in (also in special education). This sure is a small world!

I took a bunch of pictures but I'm not sure anything can top what I took the previous week though.

One kind of cool thing happened today. I was riding along and heard an animal noise I had never heard before. I looked over to the side of the road and saw prairie dogs signaling each other, and then they all popped back down in their holes. I have never seen that, except on TV. I tried to get a picture but they didn't pop their little heads up again--a minute later I saw a hawk, that may have had something to do with it?

Tomorrow I'm planning a longer day, I'll see how that goes after lollygagging for the past week or so.

Even the flowers are red in red rock country
Heart 1 Comment 0
Cool bike path
Heart 1 Comment 0
This one is for you Mark and Debbie
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Cool bike bridge into town
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bike bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hey, I'm going to buy some rocks as souvenirs! ...oh, wait, let me think about that?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cool bike ;-)
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 1,429 miles (2,300 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0