Day 19: No See Ums and no arrests - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

June 17, 2010

Day 19: No See Ums and no arrests

Well, it would have been a relatively straight forward day except the No-See-Ums came out today. If you don't know what a no-see-um is you don't know what you are missing.

...they are little gnat things that swarm at certain times of the year (Late May and June) in the southwest. The swarm around your face and eyes and....well, they suck. In fact, I have been expecting them sooner but I think the weather and and conditions (wind, etc) have not been right.

It was not bad when I was riding but every time I stopped they swarmed, so, I pretty much didn't stop, except to pull a power bar out of the power bar bag or once to take a....a...well, a "natural break". Other than that I rolled...

After a while I had another name for them, but I can't really say what because this is a family site! The good thing is that I DID come prepared with a bug "hat" thing for my face but it was a the bottom of everything. I'll keep it handy tomorrow in case I want to take a time-out.

...other than that, the only other "excitement" is that I rode on highway 70 for 15 miles. I don't know if any cops saw me but I didn't get arrested! WOOO-HOOO! There was really no other choice, and really, it felt totally safe with a huge shoulder and light traffic.

Oh, and I lost my tail wind. :-( That would have made it easier AND kept the bugs away. But I guess all good things must come to an end.

The pictures I took today were less interesting than the previous days pics so instead of spending much time on them I spent time on, and posted, yesterday's pics. Hope you like them.

Tonight's entry is going to be a short one. I'm going to bed early so I can get an early start.

I think tomorrow there will be more to talk about. :-)

Until then...

Today's ride: 62 miles (100 km)
Total: 1,374 miles (2,211 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0