Day 1: Sacramento Bound - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

May 30, 2010

Day 1: Sacramento Bound

Day 1 is in the books... WOO-HOO! Had a nice ride, not too hard, which is exactly how I planned it. I wanted an easy day to start; I just think that works better. Besides, tomorrow I start climbing, and I won't STOP climbing until Tuesday when I (hopefully) cross the top of the Sierras.

...and speaking of which, I'm trying a different route from the ACA maps. If it works out I will elaborate and, if it REALLY works out, will post the GPS coordinates.

But back to today... It was mainly familiar ground but I enjoyed the day. The weather was perfect with a light cross-tail wind most of the time. I met a bunch of great people along the way who promised to check out the journal. I think the FueledByFood.com is going to work out great. It sure makes it easy to explain to people.

Tomorrow I start climbing. Not sure if I'll be camping or in a hotel so if you don't see a journal entry don't worry. Not sure what will be available for wifi in the coming days but I'll update as soon as I have an opportunity.

Not many pictures today. I was on familiar ground so I didn't take as many.

Whoa, you gotta wonder who this cows parents were?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Bridge at old town Sacramento
Heart 1 Comment 0
Capital mall
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 51 miles (82 km)
Total: 102 miles (164 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0