A walking tour of Pueblo - What I Did On My Summer Vacation - CycleBlaze

July 1, 2010

A walking tour of Pueblo

I set off on an exploratory tour of Pueblo and noticed conditions had changed from hot to hotter and windy to WINDY! Good thing I stayed put this afternoon. But that doesn't mean I didn't have an exciting day, complete with pictures.

Downtown Pueblo has a lot to offer. The bike shop IS nice, and highly recommended, though I talked about that in an earlier post...

I'm pretty sure I saw a John paying off a hooker? Either that or a dad was paying his scantily clad daughter her allowance with a wad of bills? I thought it was best NOT to take pics of that tourist attraction.

I stopped at an interesting "collectibles" shop. Who knew all those beer cans I collected as a kid would be worth a dollar now? And that piggy bank that my grandmother gave me---it was made by a company called "Hall" and is worth around $40. But that Peanuts lunchbox? Priceless! They actually had some interesting stuff there.

...the city has a performing arts center and museum.

Heart 0 Comment 0

...and they have cool sculptures.

Heart 0 Comment 0

I liked this one the best

Heart 0 Comment 0

...They have the BEST bike racks too! This one is sponsored by a bank (that's what that little plaque is).

Heart 0 Comment 0

After my walking tour I set off to find a grocery store. A nice realtor lady said there was nothing close but to try the Loaf and Jug. If you've never been to the Loaf and Jug you don't know what you're missing. It's kind of a cross between a miniature Walmart and a 7-11 on steroids. It has all of the standard quicky-mart fair but with food that could be classified (or at least mistakenly classified) as healthy, such as a small selection of fruit, sandwiches and salads, and semi-edible looking microwave meals. And when I say "semi-edible" I mean they would look appetizing if you have spent 3-days trapped on a mountain with no food. But the Loaf and Jug doesn't stop at food, it sells things like this...

Heart 0 Comment 0

The Loaf and Jug also sold catfood, firewood, motor oil, shoelaces, a wide selection of over the counter medication and cantaloupe cubes. Quite a selection if I do say so.

Finally, my time (and interest) was beginning to wane and I started my trek back to my motel, but not before some pics of the local art...

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

And that was my walking tour of Pueblo :-)

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 2,079 miles (3,346 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0