Day7: Rain/Wind/Rest/Recovery Day - Summer Tour 19, Heading north to Quebec City via Detroit and coming back south through NYC - CycleBlaze

Day7: Rain/Wind/Rest/Recovery Day

Thursday June 20, 2019

Today was not a good day to ride. It had many periods of rain, lots of 10 - 15 mph head/cross wind, and flooded underpasses. I had a really sore back, apparently from sleeping in with my body badly positioned. My back was fine when I got up at 6:30AM to pee and I could barely get out of bed when I got up again at 8AM.

Today, other than my motels location next to a very busy crossroads which itself is next to an interstate, was a good day not to ride. My room at a Rodeway Inn is the most inexpensive room I've had with wifi and - a very nominal - breakfast. Just across the - too busy but not as dangerous to cross as the other 3 streets in this area which has NO provisions for pedestrians- is an excellent local restaurant and last night supper was excellent and very large with decent beer and excellent service.

Although the wifi isn't great unless I go to the front of the room, this is the first motel room of the trip where I was able to use the wifi with my chromebook at all. I was able to put up my crazyguy web page yesterday and do quite a bit of browsing today.

Given the rain that started before rush hour yesterday and the traffic levels during rush hour, I wasn't about to try go to McDs to get internet connectivity last night. I did go there for breakfast this morning about 9 AM and just getting across the street was an adventure even in bright sunlight. For both of the streets I've crossed, there was no point in trying to cross at the intersection. I had to get well away from the intersection and treat each lane as a separate challenge. Running with my sore back this morning was not fun, but all but one of the crossings I made required some running. I saw un-countable cars and trucks here but only 2 other people on foot.

While the location sucks for pedestrians and the motel is a nicer motel that has been sort of retreaded in a Rodeway Inn, I've enjoyed - except for the sore back - staying here because the staff is very friendly and helpful. There are half a dozen cheap motels on two of the four sides on this intersection, along with two strip clubs and that great high end local diner. The diner and this motel have full parking lots. The other motels are not nearly as popular.

I did try riding my bike today between rain showers to see how well my body function with my damaged back. It wasn't great, but if the rain, and even more so the wind, forecasts had been better, I would have ridden to Defiance OH. If my back isn't too bad tomorrow, it should be very nice day for that ride.

Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0