Venzone to Trevisio. - Summer in Slovenia 2023 - CycleBlaze

July 22, 2023

Venzone to Trevisio.

Heart 0 Comment 0

We weren't going to fooled again with the weather today.  Fool me once, shame on you.  Fool me twice, shame on me!  So, we arose early to beat the thunderstorms that were forecasted for later this afternoon.  We wouldn't want a repeat of yesterday now, would we? 

Well.  This morning, Sue arose early, but I arose even earlier.

Ever since arriving here in Italy, I've been getting ready to get up at 3:30am every morning, and I'm afraid that I've created this new sleep pattern now; automatically ready to spring out of bed in the middle of the night.  Sue's not happy about it either, as you can imagine.

So, what do I do from 3:30am to around 6am?  I work on the journal, of course.  I have a problem.  And, this problem sees me fading fast in the middle of the afternoon, just as we're in the middle of cycling.  So, I'm cycling tired, as was the case today.

But, first.   Coffee.  We're off to Trevisio today!

Due cappuccini per favore!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Looking south along the braided Tagliamento river.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Sue looking out from the same point.
Heart 6 Comment 0

Today was a 10/10 cycle day.  You can't get much better than a whole day on a converted rail trail away from car traffic, and incredible vistas all day long.  If you ever get a chance to cycle this route, I highly recommend it.  A world class cycle route for sure!

Somewhere along the Tagliamento River along the Alpe Adria.
Heart 2 Comment 0

And, then there were the countless tunnels.  Some of them were short, but some of them were quite long.  The longest one being about a kilometer in length with no lighting whatsoever.  Think of pitch black, then think even darker than that.

As Sue and I entered the longest tunnel, I had my front light on, but it was quite dim to begin with and clearly needed a good charging.  Sue's light was no better, so we cycled basically blind.  I tried my best to follow the middle white line using my increasingly diminishing headlight, with Sue following behind.  It was actually quite unnerving. I had the good sense to get my phone out and put it on flashlight mode to illuminate the way.  I imagine there have been many cyclists more unprepared than us that have resorted to walking their bicycles with one hand in contact with the cold damp wall as guidance until the light at the end of the tunnel finally emerges.  Between the two of us, our meager lights brought us safely to the end.

Cyclists more prepared than us.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraTo Rachael AndersonIt was. I kept this route in the back my mind when I read of tour through here. What year was that anyways? I was saying to Scott that I've been following you both for about 10 years now. Now, that's spooky!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Phew. A short one.
Heart 5 Comment 0
A two-fer.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Near the town of Resuitta. The Resartico River, a tributary of the Tagliamento in view.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Blinded by the light.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Another small tributary of the Tagliamento.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Looking north. What a view!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Here we're about 15 kms from Tarvisio. You can't go wrong with a cabin/mountain shot!
Heart 7 Comment 0
Sexy bike pic.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Christy McTaitYou're so cute!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Christy McTaitYeah. I agree. My bike is pretty cute😉
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 2
Bob KoreisPeace.

Ex got the one we were given at a La Sinistra rally in Cremona.
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Bob KoreisA little more of that in the world would be nice, Bob!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

All along today's route the old train stations are still standing; some in better shape than others, but many have been repurposed and have become cyclist social centers for travelers all along the Alpe Adria.  The one at Chuisaforte was particularly lively, with cyclists of all ages and abilities and purposes gathering to eat, drink, socialize and take a needed break.  Some were on day rides, others were clearly long-distance tourers, and there were many families with small children on scoot bikes or being toed in trailers.  The circus of humanity on bikes was here and it added such a festive atmosphere to the place that it was hard not to stop and take a break ourselves.  So, we did.

We ordered two of these panini sandwiches. Take a look at the size of that thing. It was almost as big as Sue's head. Look at those slabs of cheese. We split one of these and saved the other for dinner.
Heart 6 Comment 2
Patrick O'HaraTo Christy McTaitIt sure was 👍
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Bathroom graffiti at Chuisaforte station.
Heart 5 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonWe stayed a night in the town of Chiusaforte down the hill, had breakfast at the old train station - but didn't use the bathroom there. Missed this. But I downloaded it for my private diary. :)
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Suzanne GibsonHi Susan. Great. The station is a neat place!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
More awesomeness. The man peeing in the urinal turned around curiously and looked at me standing behind him; wondering why I had my camera out. Sorry, pal. Don't flatter yourself!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Yep!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tunnel selfie. Is there such a thing?
Heart 6 Comment 2
Suzanne GibsonTunnel vision selfie?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Patrick O'HaraTo Suzanne GibsonI like it!
Reply to this comment
9 months ago
Heart 5 Comment 0
This one was well lit. Perfect tarmac and smooth sailing in the coolness of the underground!
Heart 5 Comment 0
We eventually took out our other lights. We're not completely daft.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 0
I remembered watching the time trial in the Giro d'Italia back in May which used the Alpe Adria bike path. When I saw Roglic painted across the path, it jogged my memory that I was now cycling across the exact same path.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Arrived in Trevisio. Our view from our room. I'm pretty spent. Hopefully, I can sleep in to at least 4am tomorrow!
Heart 4 Comment 0
We dodged a HUGE storm very much like the one we cycled in yesterday. But, then there's always something fantastic about getting through a storm...
Heart 10 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 km (40 miles)
Total: 132 km (82 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 0