Special Bonus Entry - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

Special Bonus Entry

Locked out again

Apparently I have forgotten my magical passcode. For everything. Now I’m locked out of my atm card. I can use it as a credit card but I can’t withdraw any money from an atm with it. A lot of places still do not take credit card so this could be limiting. I have some American cash with, but not a ton. I’ve been on collect call with my card company for...well, actually I don’t know. I was going to go to bed but nope. 

starting out on the phone I kept getting stuck in phone entry purgatory. They have a 3 strikes and you get sent to a live person. The first live Erwin just sent me back to purgatory. I don’t recall what happened with the 2nd live person, but the third one got me all the way to tech support before I got hung up on. The fourth person was very helpful. He got me to a gal who must be a magician. She was able to enter the necessary details for me and get me to the right phone menu where I finally got to the prompt to reset the list code. My very wise brother suggested I write it down somewhere so I have done that and tomorrow morning I will try it out on an atm and see if I finally got it right. It appears that two years without using a pin code is enough time to completely forget all your pin codes. 

Speaking of things going wrong, this mild frustration pales in comparison to a gal and her mom that I met at a hotel earlier today. They had just spent 3 very expensive weeks in Italy in a quarantine hotel. Her daughter had tested positive despite them all being vaccinated. She and the daughter I think are from the us and the mother is from Colombia. The mother had come to the us to visit and then they had all gone to Italy for a short dream vacation. The daughter of the daughter failed her covid test when they were about to fly back to the us and they all got stuck in a covid hotel in Italy for 3 weeks. The lady running the hotel was not at all nice to them. She said it was like being in jail with a really crabby jail master for 3 weeks. Then they went to fly back to the us today and found out the mother couldn’t get in because she’s not a us citizen and had recently been in Italy. She could enter from Colombia, but not from Italy. So, it could’ve a lot worse. But please dear Lord let pin codes be the worst I encounter on this trip!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rich FrasierHey Ben - my tip is to put the code into the address book on your phone. Safer than writing it down in case your wallet is stollen.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago