Passing the Test - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

August 18, 2021

Passing the Test

This morning was my last minute covid test. It was actually quite quick and not as unpleasant as I had anticipated. The testing center I found (and had to pay out of pocket for and then try later to get my insurance to reimburse me for) is 5 minutes up the road from me. It is a drive-in center in the decaying parking lot of a former Chili’s restaurant. There was a young gal standing in the parking lot armed with nasal swabs and clad in full personal protective gear from head to toe. You drive up, roll down your window, and she sticks a swab up each of your nostrils and rubs it around in there for 5 seconds in each nostril. Then she sends you on your way and you wait for your result. Given how little I left the house, I expected a negative result, which I got. That means I can now fulfill Iceland’s requirement of being vaccinated AND have a recent negative covid test. 

This evening I got my boarding pass, or as close as you can get to a boarding pass right now. Currently due to covid you have to stand in line at the check in counter so the airline can verify your paperwork. Unlike 2019 when I got there 2 hrs or less in advance, this year I’m giving myself just over 3 hours to check in. Maybe this time my bike will actually make the flight. 

I’ve been packing and repacking every day this week. I expected it would be fine Sunday, but then tiregate happened. So far I have repacked the bike in the suitcase every single day. I’m getting fairly good at it now. My bathroom scale says 48 lbs. maximum suitcase weight is 50 lbs. I’m hoping my scale is relatively accurate.

Since I’m limited on weight with the suitcase I’ve had to pack only the must necessary of things in there. That means fitting more into my carryon bags. I’m allowed one carry on and one personal item. My personal item is pushing it for size but my carryon is within limits. Both panniers, which I’m carrying on, are pretty stuffed full, mostly because I’ve had to put my seat back back in one of the carryons. Once I’m there and have everything loaded on the bike I should have a decent amount of extra room in the panniers. 

Packing has actually been more stressful than normal. When you’re limited on size and weight it does require some ingenuity and force you to limit what you bring. Now that the packing is taken care of I do feel like I can relax a bit. 

As for paperwork, it appears I’ve got everything I need for that. I’ve filled out the digital form required by Germany. I have a pdf of my covid test and my vaccination card. I’ve filled out required paperwork from Iceland Air as well. I do still need to reserve a spot on the train to Brenner Pass and then fill out the form required by Italy. If you don’t like paperwork and chasing down online forms, now would not be a good time to travel. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Rachael AndersonLooks like you are ready. Hope all goes well!
Reply to this comment
2 years ago