And now a bit about smoking - Cycling Südtirol on a recumbent - probably - CycleBlaze

And now a bit about smoking

I’m clearly in a very foul state of mind at the moment and you, dear reader, shall hear about it because management is gone for the night leaving me with a limited audience for my thoughts.

There are very nice balconies here at the hostel. I was envisioning chilling at the end of a day of riding out on the balcony. That ended the first day when the neighbor came out on the balcony and lit up a cigarette. On the list of things I cannot stand, somewhere near the top are snakes and smoking. The smell irritates my throat pretty badly. I lived for several years in a condo with a balcony and chain smoking neighbors. As much as I wanted to have my windows open, I never could because of the smoking. As for snakes, well, this entry is not about snakes. Maybe some other time. 

Every night I’ve been here I’ve had to get up and close the window multiple times because the lady in the room next door goes out to smoke. Even with the window closed the smell is coming in here.  There are what appear to be ashtrays out there so I assume the smoking ban in Italy only applies INdoors. The Hostel website says no smoking and does not mention any designated locations on the property where it is allowed. When I check out in the morning I will let them know that the smoking substantially detracted from my experience here along with unmasked people at the buffet. If you do not like the smell of smoke, definitely never stay at the youth hostel in Bolzen. 

Also the internet gets clogged at night so forget watching a movie or anything on YouTube unless you want to eat up your cellphone data allowance. I’m ready to move out of here tomorrow. My previous hostel experiences have all been good, but this one is a dud for me. Nice scenery though....

Heart 2 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 6
Comment on this entry Comment 0