Day 20 - Prémian to Beziers - France, Top to Bottom - CycleBlaze

May 14, 2023

Day 20 - Prémian to Beziers

It’s Mother’s Day back in the states and I must thank my mother, who has always had a sense of adventure and instilled in me a desire to do trips like this, and I also must thank my wife Kim who insisted that I do this trip and is home now taking care of our 90 pound dog recovering from ACL surgery while I am gallivanting around France. Kim has been a wonderful mother to our now grown children and is the primary reason I didn’t screw them up.

Today felt like we are near the end of our trip, and we are. After nearly three weeks of lush farmland, reminiscent of England, the terrain has become much dryer, reminding me more of parts of California. The ride today started on some rail-trail before turning south for the Mediterranean on a road with stunning views of the mountains and picturesque villages perched on the hillsides. The last part of the ride was another rail-trail through vineyards before a hitting the Canal de Midi and then Beziers.

No boulangeries today as it was Sunday and we failed to find an open one. But I managed to purchase a hunk of mimolette cheese with my now advanced beginner French and something I thought was a huge cookie but turned out to be more of a small cake. Combined with other food in my pantry, it was enough for a picnic with a terrific view. Had dinner at the only open restaurant we could find in Beziers where I had my pronunciation of delicieux corrected for a fourth time in four attempts.

The trail briefly left the old rail line for this fun detour. Donna is pushing her bike even though the sign clearly shows she should be sitting on it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
So there ARE mountains in France. Not exactly the Alps or Pyreneese, but impressive none the less.
Heart 1 Comment 0
A number of towns like this today. Doug will claim I spend more time taking pictures of things like this than he does taking pictures of birds. Today he may have been right.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Lunch options were limited today being Sunday, but managed to score a chunk of Mimolette and this excellent picnic spot, so no complaints.
Heart 0 Comment 0
After birds, Doug's other obsession is poking his head in churches. Perhaps he thinks he'll find birds in them.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Left the mountains behind, nearing Beziers.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Canal de Midi.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Bezier's impressive cathedral.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 41 miles (66 km)
Total: 954 miles (1,535 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0