Day 9 - ending at Hampton, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

May 26, 2010

Day 9 - ending at Hampton, Iowa

rode on Butler County Nature Trail, Rolling Prairie Trail

Day 9 - Cedar Falls, IA to Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 5:25am. Last night's storm didn't amount to much, either dying out, not making it here, or I slept through it.

There was a bicycle path right in front on my camping site, though, at the time, I didn't know where it came or went.

Cedar Valley Lakes Trail at Black Hawk Park - Cedar Falls, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Here's a picture of the campgrounds' restroom/shower house, shared by campers on both sides of the lake.

flood-ready restrooms/showerhouse at Black Hawk Park - Cedar Falls, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 8:00am I heard carillon songs, but doubted I was hearing the UNI Campanile - 3.5 miles away. I planned for breakfast on-the-road, so got packed up and headed out at 8:40am.

my campsite at Black Hawk Park - Cedar Falls, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I eventually got on Waverly Road heading north to Janesville. Didn't find a place to eat on my route through town, so kept going. Past Janesville, I found another motor grader fixing the road.

road improvements on 275th Street - Janesville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

This one turned around to follow me, so I was pressed to see if I could go faster than a working motor grader. I made it, barely!

At 10:10am, I stopped outside Pilot Mound Cemetery for a break, sitting on the north side of the slope outside the fence.

Pilot Mound Cemetery - Bremer County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 10:58am, I was in Shell Rock, where I stopped at the Kwik Star convenience store to buy breakfast. They were running a special on 'breakfast pizza'. I tried the offered sample. It was good, but I thought a pizza box wouldn't stay upright in my basket, so I purchased a sausage and egg biscuit sandwich instead, along with a cream soda, Rice Krispies Treat, and a Dolly Madison Cherry Pie.

A short ride north got me to the Butler County Nature Trail at 11:10am.

Butler County Nature Trail (formally Shell Rock River Trail and now part of the Rolling Prairie Tri-County Trail System) - Shell Rock, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Down the trail a little ways was this business that has their outdoor storage area neatly organized.

organized!
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 11:20am I found a bench along the trail where I ate my breakfast items.

On my way again at 11:42am. This is a great trail.

Butler County Nature Trail - Butler County, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

When I think 'Iowa farm', this is what I picture.

Iowa farm - Butler County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 12:15pm, I was at County Road C33, where the trail ended east of Clarksville. I proceeded through town to its southwest corner, where the Rolling Prairie Trail starts.

access to Rolling Prairie Trail (now part of the Rolling Prairie Tri-County Trail System) - Clarksville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail west was closed due to the damaged bridge (arson in 2008), that I'd read about before I started.

Rolling Prairie Trail (closed due to bridge-out over Shell Rock River) - Clarksville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

What I didn't know about was there was a trail going south, which I took. It led through Heery Woods State Park. Just after leaving the park, I noticed going was getting hard - a sign I'd finally learned meant a flat rear tire. After crossing Shell Rock River, I pulled off at 195th Street to add some air (that I'm also learning doesn't work). I was soon walking again, up the hill alongside the river. I passed this scene, which looked both like fun but maybe also a little dangerous.

Shell Rock River at Heery Woods State Park - Clarksville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Quarry Road intersection, which I came to at 1:30pm, appeared to be as good a spot as any to change out the flat tube.

repair of flat #3 - 195th Street and Quarry Avenue - Butler County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Drivers in two pickup trucks, both coming and going on Quarry Road, stopped to offer help. One was going to pick up his kids from school. I told him I hoped to be gone when he returned. I wasn't. His son thought my bike was neat!

At 2:45pm I was back on the road, and at 3:02pm, back on the Rolling Prairie Trail, headed toward Allison. Nice riding once again - until the trail ended.

At Allison I dropped down to State Route 3, hoping a straight route might be quicker than my country road route. The highway wasn't too busy, allowing for riding on the paved shoulder some of the time. Other times I was on the gravel.

SR-3 - Butler County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

A car full of teenagers passed. Very shortly after, two cans of Pepsi came flying out the rear window. Pop went everywhere - but not on me, since the cans hit the ground fifteen feet in front of me. I think they misjudged my speed.

Had a break at the Kwik Star in Dumont at 4:45pm, enjoying a large fountain Dr. Pepper with ice.

In Hampton at 6:45pm, I stopped at their Hardee's to buy a 'to-go' supper (Bacon Thickburger and cookie), and also a 'drink-here' Dr. Pepper.

looking northeast from Hardee's parking lot - Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking northwest from Hardee's parking lot - Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

A 7:25pm I was at Beed's Lake State Park. Ten minutes later I'd decided that campsite #101 was the best one.

my choice for the best campsite at Beed's Lake State Park - Hampton, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
campsite #101 at Beed's Lake State Park - Hampton, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0
same old tire concerns
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ate supper, set up the tent, talked to a few fishermen, and enjoyed the beautiful evening. There was a steady, refreshing breeze from the north.

looking NNE from campsite #101
Heart 0 Comment 0
evening fisherman
Heart 0 Comment 0

Later I took a shower and called Tahdra with the details of my day. I didn't realize at the time how much wasn't making it into her reports!

Subject: Jeff report
Sent [by Tahdra]: Wednesday, 5-26-2010, 10:41 PM
Jeff called - he made it to Beed's Lake State Park, Hampton, Ia. He went 60 miles today. ~Tahdra

Day Nine: 59 miles in 10 hours, 55 minutes = 5.4 mph average progress.

Spent: $6.08 (breakfast) + $1.27 (soda) + $7.03 (supper) + $11 (camping fee) = $25.38.

Today's ride: 59 miles (95 km)
Total: 440 miles (708 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0