Day 5 - ending at Ainsworth, Iowa - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

May 22, 2010

Day 5 - ending at Ainsworth, Iowa

Day 5 - Danville, IA to Ainsworth, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up at 6:00am. The tent was wet, and yesterday's guess of where the sun would be in the morning was a little off.

campsite #108 at Geode State Park - Danville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

So I took my time getting around. I took a shower, ate breakfast (sardines, crackers, raisons, and animal cookies), patched tubes (both had their holes in the same spot - figures since they were caused by the same pointy rock chip), and waited on the sun to hit the tent.

My planning before I'd left home included visiting my uncle Gene in Middletown, Iowa, on the afternoon before I arrived at Geode State Park. I hadn't called ahead since I didn't know what day or time that was going to be. With the schedule somewhat messed up (that afternoon would have been yesterday), I decided that a visit this morning would work, if I cut today's planned mileage in half. My MAP330 GPS indicated a place called Marr Park about halfway between here and where I'd originally planned to be. I called Tahdra to have her check the internet to see if camping was allowed there. She called back - it was. I called Gene's number a couple of times, but got no answer. Oh well, I'd visit him after the trip.

The tent was finally dry, so I packed up and left at 11:15am. I followed my GPS waypoints out of the park, only to realize a mile and one-half later that those were the waypoints for getting me to/from Gene's. So I turned around and went back through the park to exit at the north side. The park's exit sign made a good spot for a break at 11:55am.

North Exit for Geode State Park - Danville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was heading north on County Road X30 (Racine Avenue) just after noon when I passed a place where I thought I heard someone say, "Stop". I circled back to four fellows sitting inside an open-sided barn a little ways off the road. One of them had actually just said, "Hi". After explaining my 'Straight Story' plan and listening to some discussion about how far it was to Iowa City, I was back on my way.

My planned route took me through New London, where the Nauvoo phonebook indicated Karl's Bike Shop was. At 1:05pm I arrived at the address. It was just a house with no sign. I knocked and asked the gentleman answering if this was a bike shop. It was, and he was Karl. I told him that I needed a set of 1/2-inch pedals. I sat on his porch steps until he reappeared with three sets of different style pedals. I pointed to ones like I'd used on last year's trip, and asked how much for them. Karl said, "How much do you want to give me?" I said, "Fifteen dollars." He replied, "I'll let you give me ten."! Karl had a special thin pedal wrench and said he'd put them on. I was a little concerned about the bike tipping over on him, so I helped. Even so, somehow Karl ended up with a cut on his hand. I gave him a paper towel to use until he could get bandaged up. I'm sure glad his shop was listed in the phonebook.

new, non-binding pedals!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed to 'The Finish Line' for lunch, a place I'd been to before with Uncle Gene. I had their country fried steak dinner special, Pepsi, and rhubarb pie. Before I left, they filled my water jug for me.

Busy train tracks parallel the highway on the east side of New London.

a BNSF mainline - New London, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I turned the bike around to get this windmill picture, which I figured is typical Iowa.

an Iowa farm windmill along Oasis Avenue - Henry County, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

Following my pre-planned route, I turned onto, what I didn't know until then was, a 'Minimum Maintenance' road.

Marsh Avenue - Henry County, IA
Heart 1 Comment 0

Later I passed Iowa State University's Southeast Research Farm for Agriculture.

looking east at Wyman from County Line Road - Louisa County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0
looking north on County Line Road - Washington County, IA (left) and Louisa County, IA (right)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Iowa State University Southeast Research Farm - Crawfordsville, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I couldn't complain about the wind direction today.

wind at my back on Underwood Avenue - Washington County, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I arrived at Marr Park at 7:34pm, and rode around some to see what was available - there wasn't much left.

my camping neighbors at Marr Park - Ainsworth, IA
Heart 0 Comment 0

I picked site #12. I couldn't get the tent close enough to the power box for my extension cord to reach into the tent, so just parked the bike there to charge its battery and my cell phone. Then I ate supper: canned beans and Pop Tarts. It was surprisingly quiet for an almost full campground.

Tahdra's report:
Subject: Jeff report
Sent [by Tahdra]: Saturday, 5-22-2010, 10:27 PM
Still no cell phone coverage - Jeff made it to Marr Park, Ainsworth, Iowa ....he had to buy new bike pedals, though! ~Tahdra

My report, sent out eight days later:
Subject: Day 5 report
Sent: Sunday, 5-30-2010, 8:15 AM
Up at 6:00am. Took shower, ate breakfast (sardines, crackers, raisins, and animal crackers), and patched tubes while waiting for tent to dry out.
Called tahdra to find campground halfway between here and the one I'd planned on 72 miles away, since I was getting such a late start.
Left at 11:15am in the wrong direction. Turned around after a mile and was finally on my way.
Started noticing swelling at my right eye. I think a bug bit me there.
In new london I bought new pedals at karl's bike shop. Karl helped put them on.
About 1:45pm went to 'the finish line' in new london for lunch. Left at 2:46pm.
Made go time on flat level gravel roads with the wind at my back.
Arrived at marr park, site 12, at7:51pm
Set up tent, charged bike and phone, and ate supper (baked beans and pop tarts).
47 miles; 8.6mph avg moving speed.
Pedals: $10; lunch: $8.33 + $2 tip, camp: $14 + $1 donation.
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Five: 47 miles in 8 hours, 36 minutes = 5.4 mph average progress.

Spent: $10 (pedals) + $8.33 plus $2 (lunch) + $14 plus $1 (campsite fee) = $35.33.

Today's ride: 47 miles (76 km)
Total: 226 miles (364 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0