Day 21 - ending at Pearl City, Illinois - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 7, 2010

Day 21 - ending at Pearl City, Illinois

rode on Cheese Country Trail, Badger State Trail, Jane Addams Trail

Day 21 - Gratiot, WI to Pearl City, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

I got up at 6:20am to a foggy morning. But it turned sunny later. Had breakfast of Pop Tarts, raisins, and root beer. Got packed and decided to try my camera on the tripod again. I set it up this time on the power box pole.

me at Wolf Creek Campground - Gratiot, WI
Heart 1 Comment 0

I waved good-bye to the only others campers as they rode by on their ATVs, and then left myself at 10:37am.

The trail was quieter than yesterday, with only an ATVer now and then.

Cheese Country Trail - Lafayette County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Passed over the Pecatonica River at 11:18am and then under an old overpass bridge at 12:06pm.

Pecatonica River - Lafayette County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
Tuller Lane - Lafayette County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 12:22pm I was in South Wayne, and stopped at South Wayne Mart convenience store for lunch items: deli sandwich (ham and cheddar), V8, Nutter Butter Bites, apple pie, and peanut butter crackers. The trail continued to Veteran's Memorial Park, which was a nice place to eat.

Veteran's Memorial Park - South Wayne, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
lunch
Heart 0 Comment 0

Back on the trail I noticed a nice highway just to the south that paralleled the trail. It was tempting to jump on it (pavement!), but I was committed to getting my money's worth from my trail sticker.

All the bridges on the trail are numbered. This is Bridge #40.

Cheese Country Trail Bridge #40 - Green County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail was becoming more and more sandy, which was slowing me down considerably.

leaving tracks
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 2:45pm, I stopped for a break and ate cheese crackers at this rest area. It was hot inside the shelter, but better than being out in the full sun.

Bill Cowell Rest Area near Ullom Road - Green County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I took several pictures like this looking over the sides of bridges (and hoping I didn't drop the camera). This one didn't turn out too bad.

Honey Creek - Green County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally arrived in Monroe at 4:00pm, having stuck it out to the end on the 'ATV trail'.

east end of Cheese Country Trail - Monroe, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

A few blocks on a city street and I was at the Badger State Trail. According to the sign, my Wisconsin State Trail Pass wasn't a total waste after all!

Badger State Trail - Monroe, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was ready for some easier riding and for making some time, which I did.

Badger State Trail - Green County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 5:08pm, I arrived back in my home state.

Illinois-Wisconsin State Line
Heart 0 Comment 0

Going straight on this Jane Addams Trail took you to many places, including where I wanted to go: Orangeville.

Jane Addams Trail - Stephenson County, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail had a good size cut-out (for Illinois) at one point.

Jane Addams Trail - Stephenson County, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

Arriving in Orangeville at 5:30pm, I looked around for information about camping there, to confirm what I'd read on the internet. Nothing. I decided to call the number I'd brought along. The gentleman who answered said he'd never heard of camping there and didn't think it was allowed. Well, now what? Decided I'd try making it to an alternate camping spot I'd considered back when I was laying out the route: Emerald Acres near Pearl City. I refilled my water bottles and headed out, calculating my probable ETA as I went. I'd have to keep moving.

After I left the Jane Addams Trail (at West Winneshiek Road at 6:48pm), I noticed storm clouds to the southwest - the direction I was heading. The GPS readout was set for 'countdown miles'. The rate of decrease wasn't encouraging. Seemed like the only progress I was making was that I was getting closer to the rain.

Finally arrived at Emerald Acres at 7:55pm. The rain apparently missed me to the south.

finally here
Heart 0 Comment 0
Emerald Acres Campground - Pearl City, IL
Heart 1 Comment 0

I couldn't find anyone to check-in with, so left a phone message with the camp owners telling them where I was. (Not that they'd miss me. I was the only tent camper there.)

I ate supper (Beanee Weenees, and applesauce) at the picnic table to the right in the picture above, and then set up the tent.

my campsite at Emerald Acres Campground - Pearl City, IL
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was quiet and sprinkling now and then. No one was around. Took a shower at the bathroom/shower house up the road nearer the entrance, wrote my report, and went to bed.

Subject: Day 21 report
Sent: Monday, 6-7-2010, 11:00 PM
Up at 6:20am. Foggy at first, then sunny.
Had pop tarts, raisins, and root beer for breakfast.
Left at 10:37am.
It was my stubbornness that kept me on this "atv" trail. Trail was more sand and dirt today, with stretches of small rocks. Going was very slow.
Stopped at south wayne mart at 12:20pm to buy lunch items, that I ate in south wayne's park.
Arrived in monroe at 4:00pm. Got on the badger state trail heading south. Arrived at state line and the jane addams trail at 5:08pm.
Even though the orangeville website indicates there was camping at their trailhead, I couldn't find any indication that was so. Decided to move on to emerald acres near pearl city. I could see rain heading toward me, so gave it my best effort to get to camp first.
I made it (at 7:55pm) since the rain diminished or missed me.
Ate supper (baked beans with hot dogs and applesauce) and took shower.
Lunch: $7.98; campsite: don't know yet.
48miles, 7.3mph moving average.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Twenty-one: 50 miles in 9 hours, 18 minutes = 5.4 mph average progress.

Spent: $7.98 (lunch) + $19 plus $1 (campsite fee) = $27.98 day's total.

Today's ride: 50 miles (80 km)
Total: 975 miles (1,569 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0