Day 20 - ending at Gratiot, Wisconsin - Following the Straight Path - CycleBlaze

June 6, 2010

Day 20 - ending at Gratiot, Wisconsin

rode on Cheese Country Trail

Day 20 - Mineral Point, WI to Gratiot, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I woke up at 5:45am to a calm, partly sunny morning, with plans to find breakfast in town.

a calm morning at the Iowa County Fairgrounds - Mineral Point, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Everything was dry, so packing was easy, except for having to deal with the earwigs that liked the outside bottom of my tent and the ground cloth.

My morning tire inspection revealed that the back tire had a bad spot - no doubt from the downhill skid two days ago.

skidding coming back to bite me
Heart 0 Comment 0

I decided to switch tires, putting this bad tire on the front, after booting it with electrical tape and two folded $1 bills. While tending to this, a race horse with cart and jockey appeared, making laps around the track (and me).

back to front, front to back
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finally rolled out at 9:55pm, making tracks of my own as I crossed the race course. My first stop was at Kwik Trip convenience store for water. Then I headed north and then east on my best guess for the 'main' street through town (High Street). My guess paid off. This town seemed old - they still had a Ben Franklin Store!

Ben Franklin Store - Mineral Point, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Across the side street was a cafe - The Red Rooster, which sounded like the perfect breakfast place to me.

The Red Rooster Cafe - Mineral Point, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

They were crowded, but had a booth for me.

breakfast time on a Sunday morning at the Red Rooster Cafe - Mineral Point, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I didn't pass up this opportunity for steak and eggs. While waiting, I looked at my GPS route and 'discovered' that today was the start of my ride on the Cheese Country Trail. (I hadn't been looking very far ahead lately.) I used the BlackBerry to read up on the trail. I had to read it a couple of times, but finally realized that the Wisconsin State Trail Pass I'd brought with me was no good for this trail. There was a list of places - mostly bars - where a pass for this trail could be purchased, but I doubted they'd be open on a Sunday.

The trail pass situation didn't stop me from enjoying my breakfast when it arrived.

steak and eggs!
Heart 0 Comment 0

At 11:29am, I was back outside, walking my bike down High Street. High Street ended at Commerce Street. And just across the street was one of the bars (Cruise Inn Bar & Grill) listed as a seller of the trail pass I needed. Furthermore, they were open! The two young waitresses inside listened patiently as I carried on a little about how, apparently, the State Trail Pass I had was a waste of money. Then they had me sign the trail pass log sheet and handed me a trail sticker in exchange for fifteen dollars. I walked down Commerce Street to where the trail was, and figured out a place to stick the sticker (on the back side of the front fender).

a license for the bike
Heart 0 Comment 0

It wasn't long before I heard/saw an ATV.

my first ATV sighting on the Cheese Country Trail - Mineral Point, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

The trail was actually pretty and peaceful, for the most part, since there weren't that many ATVers (initially).

Cheese Country Trail - Iowa County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
water shaded by overhang - Iowa County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I passed Calamine at 1:28pm. Just south of there the Pecatonica State Trail meets up with the Cheese Country Trail. The picnic table at the intersection provided a spot for a break. Lots of ATV-action here.

where the Cheese Country Trail meets up with the Pecatonica State Trail - Calamine, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cheese Country Trail - Calamine, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I continued on, reaching Darlington at 2:28pm.

approaching Darlington - Lafayette County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

The Pecatonica River Trail took off here on the right. I was tempted, even though that would be going the wrong way (I thought!).

Pecatonica River Trail - Darlington, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Instead, I stayed with the ATVs.

ATV and bikes trails - Darlington, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did have one advantage over the ATVs - I could leave the designated trail route, which I did to find a Casey's General Store. Picked up a cream soda and root beer there and headed back to the trail.

Much to my surprise, I thought I heard thunder. Sure enough, it was getting dark behind me. I was hoping to find a park to rest and drink my soda, but now I wanted a pavilion. Less than a minute later I spotted one a block away to the south (Thanks Lions Club!).

From the shelter I was able to watch the storm. It got windy and a little bit cool.

a surprise storm
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just before the worst of the rain started, a couple on a motorcycle pulled in under the pavilion. They do touring on their 'bike', and were out for a day ride. Later they would be headed for a trip to the Gulf Coast, to "Dip our toes in the oil." It was a trip planned with reservations made before the oil rig disaster occurred. When the storm passed, they took off while I checked the weather radar on the BlackBerry. Another storm was to the west, but from the still WeatherBug image, I couldn't tell its movement. I called home and got Isaac, who did an expert job of predicting that I'd get wet (and when), if I took off now. So I sat waiting for round two.

Ballpark Shelter House at Riverside Park - Darlington, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0
here comes round two
Heart 0 Comment 0

Finally, at 5:00pm, it was clear to go. Considering the time, if I'd been thinking logically, I would have pedaled back to the campground I'd noticed on the west side of Darlington, and called it a day. Instead, I hopped on the now-muddy trail heading east, with the thought of making it to Monroe, instead of Orangeville (Illinois).

At 5:47pm, I met up with a group of ATVers. As one of them commented on my bald front tire, another offered me a beer. My tire wasn't bald, of course, just made that way, but I was too tired to explain. I said no-thanks to the beer, stating that I was already slowed down enough, and needed to keep going to get to Monroe. So then they offered me a 'Ski'. I asked what that was. 'A turbo Mountain Dew' was the response, adding that it was a local beverage. I was thinking 'local Wisconsin', but later found out 'local Southern Illinois'. I declined on that also to keep moving.

Later (at 5:57pm) I stopped here for a picture.

pond along Cheese Country Trail - Lafayette County, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another group of ATVers came along asking if I'd seen the other half of their party. I told them about the 'Ski' offer I'd received from a group a ways back, and they said, "That's them!"

I must say, all the ATVers I met or passed were very friendly. It even looked, in a way, like fun.

As I pedaled, I got to thinking about my desperate need for a shower, and how maybe I wouldn't even get one tonight. Just then I saw a building that looked like a shower house, but I didn't believe it.

a showerhouse?! . . . with a campground?!
Heart 0 Comment 0

But it was! And with a campground next to it! My day was saved (again)!

so many sites to choose from!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I picked site #15 (with electricity) at 6:35pm and self-registered. A little later the park officer drove up on an ATV-type utility truck to talk. I told him this was my first time bicycling on an ATV trail. He gently pointed out it wasn't an 'ATV trail', but a 'multi-use trail'. He was right, of course. I stood corrected. He also told me that last weekend (Memorial Day weekend) the campground was full, and that was when their new shower house first opened.

I got the tent set up just in time for a couple of sun-lit photos.

campsite #15 at Wolf Creek Campground - Gratiot, WI
Heart 2 Comment 0
new showerhouse at Wolf Creek Campground - Gratiot, WI
Heart 1 Comment 0

As much as I wanted a shower, I figured I'd better walk to town first for supper before it got too late, if I could find a place open.

using the Cheese Country Trail bridge for my walk into town - Gratiot, WI
Heart 0 Comment 0

I did find a place - Pumbaa's Pub & Grub. It was full of ATVers, including the two halves of the group I'd talked to on the trail. I found out they were from southern Illinois and up here in Wisconsin ATV-ing for their vacation. We also talked some about my trip.

I composed my nightly email report (and got the correct spelling of 'Ski' from the girl sitting next to me) while waiting on my supper order: a butterfly pork chop sandwich with fries.

Eventually, I made it back to the campground, where I thoroughly enjoyed a shower. Both the lights and water in the shower house were motion-sensor activated. And the place was very clean, as would be expected for a new facility. What a great way to end the day!

Subject: Day 20 report
Sent: Sunday, 6-6-2010, 10:41 PM
Up at 5:45am. Wind died down and everything was dry.
Noticed bad spot on rear tire, so booted tire with electrical tape and two $1bills, and switched tires - back-to-front.
Left at 9:55am. Stopped at red rooster cafe in mineral point for steak and eggs breakfast. While waiting for breakfast, using this blackberry discovered that my state trail pass would not work on the cheese country trail. Purchased required sticker and set off on this "shared use" trail at 11:45am. "Shared" means atv's - and they were there big time. All very friendly. Trail is gravel/dirt - mountain bikes are recommended - but at least it was flat!
Arrived in darlington, bought a cream soda and root beer at casey's and found another pavilion, because it looked like rain. Called home to get storm direction, talked to isaac who provided the needed information. I shared the pavilion for a while with a couple on a motorcycle. It finally cleared at 5:00pm.
Looked like orangeville was out of reach. Maybe even monroe. Proceeded anyway. Trail was muddy from the rain. Stopped to talk to atv'ers. They offered me a "ski", which they said was a turbo mountain dew. (They were from southern illinois.) I told them I had to keep moving - monroe was a ways. Shortly thereafter (about 6:35pm) I came upon a camping area in gratiot. The shower house is new - only opened last week, I heard later.
Set up tent and headed for local bar (pumbaa's pub and grub) for something to eat. Had butterfly pork chop sandwich with fries.
Back shortly after 9:00pm. Took desperately-needed shower.
Breakfast: $12:71+2; bike trail pass: $15; cream soda and root beer: $2.64; camping fee: $15; supper: $14.50.
28miles, 7.0mph moving average.
Jeff
Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

Day Twenty: 27 miles in 8 hours, 40 minutes = 3.1 mph average progress.

Spent: $12.71 plus $2 (breakfast) + $15 (trail pass) + $2.64 (sodas) + $15(campsite fee) + $10.50 plus $4 (supper) = $61.85.

Today's ride: 27 miles (43 km)
Total: 925 miles (1,489 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0